Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:34 am
Posts: 1
hmm, anyone know of a snmpd that is usuable with windows xp/vista (32 and 64bit), that will actually give the value in a 64 bit counter.
sofar ive played around with the built in MS options, and net-snmpd, but neither seems to want to give a 64 bit counter for the network interfaces.
making graphs apear quite fun, 8MB/s is 8MB/s, but with the host running at say 30MB/s or so, it will show 2MB/s.
And sofar i havent found a solution..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:57 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 259
Yes you can and already should use the High-Counter-Values (ifHC*Octets) for any kind of Interface with a Bandwith of 10MBit/s or higher. Slower Interfaces like Analogports, ISDN does not have the HC-Mibs enabled (as far as I last checked in 2004).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:57 am
Posts: 45
Location: Basel
Hi all,

I found out that its not only depended to the device but also to the net-snmp version. RH4 with net-snmp 5.1 doesn`t work properly with 64 bit counters but RH5 with net-snmp 5.3 works fine on the same hardware.

Maybe this will help someone.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:27 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 57
Location: UK
so how does one get 64bit 95th percentile graphs and 64bit bytes/sec total bandwidth used graphs?

pulling my hair out over this and will paypal cash to someone who gives me a simple step by step solution (that works) thanks.

Seems kind of daft that cacti supplies 64bit templates for the basic in/out bits graph but not the other graphs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:04 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
Copy the standard 64bit graph template.
Analyze the 95th percentile 32bit graph carefully to learn which graph template items do the percentile. Then add the same to your new copy.
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 12
I'm already using SNMPv2, but how can you tell if you're using 32 or 64 bit graphs?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [INFO] My traffic graphs won't exceed 114 mbit/s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:26 pm
Posts: 1
Hi all,

I have the same problem. It seems I got a "limit" on my graphs. When I selected the interfaces to monitore, I have choosen "In/Out Bits (64-bits counters)". But I have the same results with "In/Out Bits".
Can you tell me, please, if there is something else to configure to obtain correct values on trafic interface please ?
Thx :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [INFO] My traffic graphs won't exceed 114 mbit/s
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
You should see "System Utilities -> View Poller Cache", filter for that host and research the OID used. It should be the required 64bit Counter OID
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:02 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
crashergs wrote:
You need to delete your old graphs and recreate to 64bit

Question: Can 100MB ports use the 64bit graphs? It will be time consuming to choose each individual 1GB port from switches to use 64bit counters and the 100MB selected to 32bit.
In case the device supports SNMP V2 and the 64 bit MIB, yes.
But you can use AUTOM8 to automatically create the correct graphs without user intervention. You only will have to define two rules
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Use fix64bit plugin to convert 32-bit traffic graphs
PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:46 pm
Posts: 17
Location: London, UK
It's not necessary to delete your existing 32-bit graphs. Just convert them to 64-bit. There's a plugin that makes it easy:

http://docs.cacti.net/userplugin:fix64bit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [INFO] My traffic graphs won't exceed 114 mbit/s
PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:05 am
Posts: 6
I'm running in the same problem. All the others graphs are ok. I beg your help to solve this problem.I'm using:

--Cacti Version: 0.8.7g

net-snmp-5.3.2.2-7.el5_4.2
net-snmp-utils-5.3.2.2-7.el5_4.2
php-snmp-5.1.6-39.el5_8
net-snmp-libs-5.3.2.2-7.el5_4.2

--Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.4

--Graph Properties:
/usr/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-14400 \
--end=-300 \
--title='Graph_Name - Traffic - IP.IP.IP.IP (eth4)' \
--rigid \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=750 \
--alt-autoscale \
--vertical-label='bits per second' \
--slope-mode \
--font TITLE:14: \
--font AXIS:8: \
--font LEGEND:10: \
--font UNIT:8: \
DEF:a="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_in:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_in:MAX \
DEF:c="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_out:AVERAGE \
DEF:d="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_out:MAX \
CDEF:cdefa=a,8,* \
CDEF:cdeff=b,8,* \
CDEF:cdefg=c,8,*,-1,* \
CDEF:cdefi=c,8,* \
CDEF:cdefbc=c,8,*,-1,* \
CDEF:cdefbd=d,8,*,-1,* \
AREA:cdefa#00FF0099:"Inbound" \
LINE1:cdefa#00CF00FF:"" \
GPRINT:cdefa:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s" \
LINE1:cdeff#005D57FF:"Peak Usage\n" \
AREA:cdefg#00A0FF99:"Outbound" \
AREA:cdefg#002A9733:"" \
GPRINT:cdefi:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefi:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefi:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s" \
LINE1:cdefa#000000FF:"" \
LINE1:cdefbc#000000FF:"" \
LINE1:cdefbd#0000AAFF:"Peak Usage\n"

--Poller Information:
Interval 300
Type cmd.php
Items Action[0]: 6603
Action[1]: 120
Action[2]: 91
Total: 6814
Concurrent Processes 25
Max Threads 1
PHP Servers 1
Script Timeout 25
Max OID 10
Last Run Statistics Time:37.4711 Method:cmd.php Processes:25 Threads:N/A Hosts:279 HostsPerProcess:12 DataSources:6814 RRDsProcessed:3702


Attachments:
CACTI_01.png
CACTI_01.png [ 9.41 KiB | Viewed 11075 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group