[INFO] My traffic graphs won't exceed 114 mbit/s

If you figure out how to do something interesting/cool in Cacti and want to share it with the community, please post your experience here.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
marix
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:34 am

#16 Post by marix » Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:37 am

hmm, anyone know of a snmpd that is usuable with windows xp/vista (32 and 64bit), that will actually give the value in a 64 bit counter.
sofar ive played around with the built in MS options, and net-snmpd, but neither seems to want to give a 64 bit counter for the network interfaces.
making graphs apear quite fun, 8MB/s is 8MB/s, but with the host running at say 30MB/s or so, it will show 2MB/s.
And sofar i havent found a solution..

Deviloper
Cacti User
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:03 am

#17 Post by Deviloper » Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:57 am

Yes you can and already should use the High-Counter-Values (ifHC*Octets) for any kind of Interface with a Bandwith of 10MBit/s or higher. Slower Interfaces like Analogports, ISDN does not have the HC-Mibs enabled (as far as I last checked in 2004).

TheBigOne
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Basel

#18 Post by TheBigOne » Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:34 am

Hi all,

I found out that its not only depended to the device but also to the net-snmp version. RH4 with net-snmp 5.1 doesn`t work properly with 64 bit counters but RH5 with net-snmp 5.3 works fine on the same hardware.

Maybe this will help someone.

Chrysalis
Cacti User
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:14 am
Location: UK

#19 Post by Chrysalis » Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:27 am

so how does one get 64bit 95th percentile graphs and 64bit bytes/sec total bandwidth used graphs?

pulling my hair out over this and will paypal cash to someone who gives me a simple step by step solution (that works) thanks.

Seems kind of daft that cacti supplies 64bit templates for the basic in/out bits graph but not the other graphs.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#20 Post by gandalf » Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:04 pm

Copy the standard 64bit graph template.
Analyze the 95th percentile 32bit graph carefully to learn which graph template items do the percentile. Then add the same to your new copy.
R.

droeun
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:33 am

#21 Post by droeun » Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:29 am

I'm already using SNMPv2, but how can you tell if you're using 32 or 64 bit graphs?

Sylv1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:26 pm

Re: [INFO] My traffic graphs won't exceed 114 mbit/s

#22 Post by Sylv1 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:55 am

Hi all,

I have the same problem. It seems I got a "limit" on my graphs. When I selected the interfaces to monitore, I have choosen "In/Out Bits (64-bits counters)". But I have the same results with "In/Out Bits".
Can you tell me, please, if there is something else to configure to obtain correct values on trafic interface please ?
Thx :)

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Re: [INFO] My traffic graphs won't exceed 114 mbit/s

#23 Post by gandalf » Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

You should see "System Utilities -> View Poller Cache", filter for that host and research the OID used. It should be the required 64bit Counter OID
R.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Re:

#24 Post by gandalf » Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:02 pm

crashergs wrote:You need to delete your old graphs and recreate to 64bit

Question: Can 100MB ports use the 64bit graphs? It will be time consuming to choose each individual 1GB port from switches to use 64bit counters and the 100MB selected to 32bit.
In case the device supports SNMP V2 and the 64 bit MIB, yes.
But you can use AUTOM8 to automatically create the correct graphs without user intervention. You only will have to define two rules
R.

User avatar
Tolaris
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:46 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Use fix64bit plugin to convert 32-bit traffic graphs

#25 Post by Tolaris » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:36 pm

It's not necessary to delete your existing 32-bit graphs. Just convert them to 64-bit. There's a plugin that makes it easy:

http://docs.cacti.net/userplugin:fix64bit

alanlopes
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:05 am

Re: [INFO] My traffic graphs won't exceed 114 mbit/s

#26 Post by alanlopes » Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:16 pm

I'm running in the same problem. All the others graphs are ok. I beg your help to solve this problem.I'm using:

--Cacti Version: 0.8.7g

net-snmp-5.3.2.2-7.el5_4.2
net-snmp-utils-5.3.2.2-7.el5_4.2
php-snmp-5.1.6-39.el5_8
net-snmp-libs-5.3.2.2-7.el5_4.2

--Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.4

--Graph Properties:
/usr/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-14400 \
--end=-300 \
--title='Graph_Name - Traffic - IP.IP.IP.IP (eth4)' \
--rigid \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=750 \
--alt-autoscale \
--vertical-label='bits per second' \
--slope-mode \
--font TITLE:14: \
--font AXIS:8: \
--font LEGEND:10: \
--font UNIT:8: \
DEF:a="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_in:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_in:MAX \
DEF:c="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_out:AVERAGE \
DEF:d="/usr/share/cacti/rra/Graph_Name_traffic_in_5558.rrd":traffic_out:MAX \
CDEF:cdefa=a,8,* \
CDEF:cdeff=b,8,* \
CDEF:cdefg=c,8,*,-1,* \
CDEF:cdefi=c,8,* \
CDEF:cdefbc=c,8,*,-1,* \
CDEF:cdefbd=d,8,*,-1,* \
AREA:cdefa#00FF0099:"Inbound" \
LINE1:cdefa#00CF00FF:"" \
GPRINT:cdefa:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s" \
LINE1:cdeff#005D57FF:"Peak Usage\n" \
AREA:cdefg#00A0FF99:"Outbound" \
AREA:cdefg#002A9733:"" \
GPRINT:cdefi:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefi:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefi:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s" \
LINE1:cdefa#000000FF:"" \
LINE1:cdefbc#000000FF:"" \
LINE1:cdefbd#0000AAFF:"Peak Usage\n"

--Poller Information:
Interval 300
Type cmd.php
Items Action[0]: 6603
Action[1]: 120
Action[2]: 91
Total: 6814
Concurrent Processes 25
Max Threads 1
PHP Servers 1
Script Timeout 25
Max OID 10
Last Run Statistics Time:37.4711 Method:cmd.php Processes:25 Threads:N/A Hosts:279 HostsPerProcess:12 DataSources:6814 RRDsProcessed:3702
Attachments
CACTI_01.png
CACTI_01.png (9.41 KiB) Viewed 13801 times

Post Reply