Adding the SHIFT parameter

Anything that you think should be in Cacti.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
thehemi
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Texas

Adding the SHIFT parameter

#1 Post by thehemi » Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:56 pm

See this thread...

Graph Data X over Two Time Ranges
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=9101

To sum the thead up...

DEF:a="cpu.rrd":cpu:AVERAGE
DEF:b="cpu.rrd":cpu:AVERAGE:end=now-XXX:start=end-XXX
SHIFT:b:XXX

now/end are going to be already known variables.
If there was a way to include XXX and allow the
SHIFT parameter to be an available option when
adding Graph Template Item, Cacti would support
graphing current vs old data on the same graph...

Not sure how easy/hard this is... but it would rock!
http://www.TheHEMI.com/

thehemi
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Texas

#2 Post by thehemi » Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:49 pm

Do we, the lowly users, get any clues on which features
you might be considering? I'd be curious to know if my
request is going to get any thought, if it was just tossed,
or if there's any additional information I can provide that
might help in the decision/developmental making process.
http://www.TheHEMI.com/

User avatar
rony
Developer/Forum Admin
Posts: 6016
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

#3 Post by rony » Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:24 pm

If RDDTool supports it, I would say it's possible, but I don't know if it does.
[size=117][i][b]Tony Roman[/b][/i][/size]
[size=84][i]Experience is what causes a person to make new mistakes instead of old ones.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]There are only 3 way to complete a project: Good, Fast or Cheap, pick two.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]With age comes wisdom, what you choose to do with it determines whether or not you are wise.[/i][/size]

thehemi
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: Texas

#4 Post by thehemi » Tue Oct 11, 2005 8:22 pm

"Viewing the current and previous week together"
http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~oetiker/webto ... es.en.html

The RRDtool absolutely supports this SHIFT function.
That's why I was suggesting the feature be added to
Cacti. I'm able to create these graphs by hand with
RRDtool, but we'd love to be able to do it with Cacti.
http://www.TheHEMI.com/

dasch
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:47 am

Feature by now?

#5 Post by dasch » Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:55 am

Hello,

searching in this forum for the feature exactly described above, I would like to know if one can use CACTI now in this way. I would like CACTI to generate rrdtool graph code like

Code: Select all

DEF:a="somefile.rrd":traffic_in:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="somefile.rrd":traffic_in:AVERAGE[b]:end=now-1d:start=end-1d \
SHIFT:b:86400 \[/b]
LINE1:a#FF0000FF:"Inbound"  \
LINE1:b#00FF00FF:"Inbound[b] - 1 Day[/b]"  \
Is this feature planned or implemented by now?

Thanks in advance,

Daniel

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#6 Post by gandalf » Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:58 pm

It is planned. We do plan to support all available rrdtool parameters. Currently there's not an exact timeframe when we will support which parameter.
The most complicated part is the verification of valid rrdtool commands because it depends strongly on the rrdtool version used.
We were already thinking about allowing for some "free format text field" to allow for a custom string passed to rrdtool. This would be on your own risk. But we do not love this approach because it will increase "support requests"
Reinhard

dasch
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:47 am

#7 Post by dasch » Mon Sep 14, 2009 4:43 am

Thank you for your response :)

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#8 Post by gandalf » Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:15 pm

It's in! See upcoming 088 version
R.

nazagoth
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brazil

Re: Adding the SHIFT parameter

#9 Post by nazagoth » Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:55 am

So, there any plans to launch the 088?

I'm searching shift options to graph with shadow

any ideas?
Ricardo Rojo Bonfim

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding the SHIFT parameter

#10 Post by gandalf » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:24 pm

We don't have an exact schedule yet. But please tell me how you want to implement that shadow thingy using SHIFT
R.

nazagoth
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brazil

Re: Adding the SHIFT parameter

#11 Post by nazagoth » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:54 am

like this:
http://wiki.springsurprise.com/2011/10/ ... n-rrdtool/

but I need this on cacti :/
Ricardo Rojo Bonfim

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding the SHIFT parameter

#12 Post by gandalf » Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:35 am

I apologize, but for that graph the new support is in fact required.
You may want to download current code and verify, that it does what you need. But that code is by far not production-ready
R.

nazagoth
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brazil

Re: Adding the SHIFT parameter

#13 Post by nazagoth » Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:30 am

hmm, thanks for the answers by the way

can you say if the new version will be launched this semester at least? or another forecast like this?
Ricardo Rojo Bonfim

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding the SHIFT parameter

#14 Post by gandalf » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:43 pm

Unfortunately, my latest assumptions all failed. So I refrain from getting more frustration like that.
R.

nazagoth
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:46 pm
Location: Curitiba - Brazil

Re: Adding the SHIFT parameter

#15 Post by nazagoth » Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:25 am

hahaha allright (: thanks again
Ricardo Rojo Bonfim

Post Reply