Monitor Vmware ESX

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
GigaGuy
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:51 pm

VM Host Stats

#61 Post by GigaGuy » Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:55 pm

Does anyone know if there are any plugins like the ones at the bottom of this page? http://www.zenoss.com/product/screenshots for monitoring VM's

karias
Cacti User
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:36 am

#62 Post by karias » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:13 pm

I'm also running on v 8.7a and I got this going. The only thing I've noticed is the cpu graphs for majority of the vmware servers look like it's graphing at 100% instead of the correct cpu utilization. Only a handful are graphing correctly. Any one else experiencing this?


*Update - Never mind....it looks like it's going over 100%.
Attachments
correct graph 1.JPG
correct graph 1.JPG (137.46 KiB) Viewed 27499 times
correct graph 2.JPG
correct graph 2.JPG (139.64 KiB) Viewed 27499 times
different graph.JPG
different graph.JPG (146.9 KiB) Viewed 27499 times
Last edited by karias on Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fmangeant
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2326
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Contact:

#63 Post by fmangeant » Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:46 am

Hi

could you please post pictures as png / jpeg ?

Thanks in advance !
[size=84]
[color=green]HOWTOs[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15353]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Unix[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=26151]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=28175]Graph multiple servers using an SNMP proxy[/url][/list]
[color=green]Templates[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15412]Multiple CPU usage for Linux[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=125152]Memory & swap usage for Unix[/url][/list][/size]

warinetsa
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:38 am
Location: Lugano - Switzerland
Contact:

#64 Post by warinetsa » Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:41 am

karias wrote:I'm also running on v 8.7a and I got this going. The only thing I've noticed is the cpu graphs for majority of the vmware servers look like it's graphing at 100% instead of the correct cpu utilization. Only a handful are graphing correctly. Any one else experiencing this?
Hi there,

I experienced the same problem with ESX 3.0.1. It disappeard with 3.0.2.

Cheers
Manfredo

mattp
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:10 am

No Items in Associated Data Queries

#65 Post by mattp » Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:48 am

Hi,

I imported the ESX template successfully and added one of our ESX hosts. SNMP is configured on it and snmpwalk retrieves data successfully:

Code: Select all

# snmpwalk -v2c -c blabla myhost .1.3.6.1.4.1.6876.2.1.1.1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.0 = INTEGER: 0
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.1 = INTEGER: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.2 = INTEGER: 2
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.3 = INTEGER: 3
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.4 = INTEGER: 4
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.5 = INTEGER: 5
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.6 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.7 = INTEGER: 7
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.8 = INTEGER: 8
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.9 = INTEGER: 9
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.10 = INTEGER: 10
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.11 = INTEGER: 11
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.12 = INTEGER: 12
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.13 = INTEGER: 13
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.14 = INTEGER: 14
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.2.1.1.1.15 = INTEGER: 15
But the problem is when I add the ESX Host inside cacti, there are no items listed for the data queries ( see the attached picture ).

Verbose Query works and tells the following:

Code: Select all

+ Running data query [15].
+ Found type = '6 '[script query].
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_mem.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing script for list of indexes '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_vmware_mem.php 10.1.1.201 9 2:161:500:nagios:::MD5::[None] index'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_vmware_mem.php 10.1.1.201 9 2:161:500:nagios:::MD5::[None] query index'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_vmware_mem.php 10.1.1.201 9 2:161:500:nagios:::MD5::[None] query displayname'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_vmware_mem.php 10.1.1.201 9 2:161:500:nagios:::MD5::[None] query vmid'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_vmware_mem.php 10.1.1.201 9 2:161:500:nagios:::MD5::[None] query gueststate'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_vmware_mem.php 10.1.1.201 9 2:161:500:nagios:::MD5::[None] query vmstate'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_vmware_mem.php 10.1.1.201 9 2:161:500:nagios:::MD5::[None] query total'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_mem.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_mem.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_mem.xml'
I don't know where the problem could be.

Hope that somebody can help me with this problem!

Thanks,
Matthias
Attachments
cacti_esx.JPG
cacti_esx.JPG (132.03 KiB) Viewed 27272 times

karias
Cacti User
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:36 am

#66 Post by karias » Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:00 pm

mattp, what version of cacti are you running?

mattp
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 10:10 am

#67 Post by mattp » Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:15 am

karias wrote:mattp, what version of cacti are you running?
The latest stable, 0.8.7a.

karias
Cacti User
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:36 am

#68 Post by karias » Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:50 am

Have you updated your php scripts?

include_once(dirname(__FILE__) . "/../include/global.php");
instead of
include_once(dirname(__FILE__) . "/../include/config.php");

nochance
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:15 pm

#69 Post by nochance » Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:49 pm

I am having the same problem with the CPU Graphs. I did update my scripts and I checked them twice to make sure the config.php was changed to global.php.

Matt, are you using Ping or SNMP to verify your servers are up? I had to switch from Ping to SNMP and that fixed the problem.

Also, it appears that ESX3 has removed the VMWare specific SNMP subagents that allow you to pull data from the VM's. This seems to be a big part of the reason a lot of us are having problems.

You can use the SDK and pull the data directly from the VCMS server or directly from an ESX server.

More details: http://unnoc.org/

Maybe someone would like to take a stab at converting the VI Perl Toolkit calls to work with Cacti? http://sourceforge.net/projects/viperltoolkit/

nochance
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:15 pm

#70 Post by nochance » Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:03 pm

Also, I am trying to track users logged in to get an idea of how many people are using the VM's. It appears to be incrementing instead of clearing the data .

Example, if I log in today, then log again tomorrow, it shows 2 users logged in. If I log in the following day, it shows 3 users logged in. Anything we can do to fix that?


DOH! It's a Unix tool and I'm using it on Windows. Wonder if I can fix that somehow....

apperrault
Cacti User
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:37 am
Location: Emeryville, CA
Contact:

#71 Post by apperrault » Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:55 am

Hi all,
I have a question. How can i see the Data Stores that my ESX server is using? I have 3 146GB data stores, and none of them show up in my graphs. I have tried the following Data queries and they all show me 0 rows:

Unix - Get Mounted Partitions
ucd/net - Get Monitored Partitions

SNMP - Get Mounted Partitions returns 6 rows, which are my partitions that ESX is installed on, but i see nothing for monitoring the Datastore drives.

Anyone have any thoughts? I can send an SNMP walk if that would help

app
[b]Cacti Version[/b] - 0.8.7b
[b]Plugin Architecture[/b] - 2.2 Beta
[b]Poller Type[/b] - CMD.php
[b]Server Info[/b] - Linux 2.6.9-78.0.1.ELsmp
[b]Web Server[/b] - Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)
[b]PHP[/b] - 4.3.9
[b]MySQL[/b] - 4.1.22
[b]RRDTool[/b] - 1.2.23
[b]SNMP[/b] - 5.1.2
[b]Plugins[/b][list]Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.5)
SuperLinks (superlinks - v0.72)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Report Creator (reports - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Realtime for Cacti (realtime - v0.35)
Cacti Log View (clog - v1.1)
RRD File Cleaner (rrdclean - v0.36)
Network Discovery (discovery - v0.9)
Uptime (uptime - v0.4)[/list]

ymartin59
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:42 am

About VM CPU usage

#72 Post by ymartin59 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:32 am

Hello,
According to VMware MIB, the CPU utilization is "Time the virtual machine has been running on the CPU (seconds)."
So the CDEF "CPU Seconds As Percentage" should be something like "cdef=CURRENT_DATA_SOURCE,300,/"
But resulting graph are "wrong" compared to esxtop output. I guess the number of hardware CPU should be considered to get a relevant percentage.
On two servers, it seems "/ 10" give a percentage closed to the reality, but why ??

Another improvement point: network counters has been deprecated and new 64 bits counters (High Capacity) has been defined. See /usr/lib/vmware/snmp/mibs/VMWARE-RESOURCES-MIB.mib for details.

Yves

ymartin59
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:42 am

#73 Post by ymartin59 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 2:53 am

apperrault wrote: SNMP - Get Mounted Partitions returns 6 rows, which are my partitions that ESX is installed on, but i see nothing for monitoring the Datastore drives.
Anyone have any thoughts? I can send an SNMP walk if that would help
vmfs partitions are not visible in the service console except with vdf - I guess it comes from a file in /proc/vmware/
These partitions are not published in the vmware MIB either (see content in /usr/lib/vmware/snmp/mibs)
So, I would answer - no, it is not possible to monitor easily the datastores through SNMP.

cynicismic
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:05 am

ESX 3.5

#74 Post by cynicismic » Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:37 am

Has anyone got round to updating this for ESX 3.5 yet?
It does work for the base ESX server but monitoring for each of the VM's doesn't work - looks like the mib's have changed.

Might get round to doing it myself if no-one else already has..

cc
Cacti User
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 3:09 am
Location: CH

#75 Post by cc » Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:00 pm

I have ESX 3.5.0 and cacti version 0.8.7a and it works well !

Code: Select all

# cat /etc/snmp/snmpd.conf
$# Sample snmpd.conf containing VMware MIB module entries.

# This is a simple snmpd.conf that may help you test SNMP.
# It is not recommended for production use. Consult the
# snmpd.conf(5) man pages to set up a secure installation.

syscontact [email protected] (edit snmpd.conf)
syslocation room1 (edit snmpd.conf)
rocommunity public
trapcommunity public
trapsink localhost
trapsink 192.168.1.200

# VMware MIB modules. To enable/disable VMware MIB items
# add/remove the following entries.
dlmod SNMPESX            /usr/lib/vmware/snmp/libSNMPESX.so

# Allow Systems Management Data Engine SNMP to connect to snmpd using SMUX
smuxpeer .1.3.6.1.4.2.675.10824.1
and on cacti:
Attachments
cacti_esx.GIF
cacti_esx.GIF (22.89 KiB) Viewed 26114 times

Post Reply