Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu May 23, 2019 10:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Monitoring HP Printer Toner Levels
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2003 11:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 5:12 pm
Posts: 7
Location: US/California/Bay Area
I took a quick peek through the forums and didn't see any posts with examples of how to monitor the toner level on HP printers (my apologies if I'm duplicating somone's work here) so I set out to create a graph template for doing just that.

Here are the OIDs involved:
.1.3.6.1.2.1.43.11.1.1.9.1.1 is the amount of black toner remaining
.1.3.6.1.2.1.43.11.1.1.8.1.1 is the maximum black toner level

I have attached an export of a graph template (Printer - HP - Toner Level) and two data templates (Printer - HP - Black Toner Max and Printer -HP -Black Toner Level).

This is my first real attempt at using user defined graph templates and data source templates (this is my first week playing with cacti) so feedback is welcome!


Attachments:
File comment: One graph and two data source templates for HP Printer toner level.
printer-hp-toner.xml [10.29 KiB]
Downloaded 10433 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Question regarding this export
PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 12:26 pm
Posts: 31
Shouldn't the imported max data template be of type SNMP and polling the .1.3.6.1.2.1.43.11.1.1.8.1.1 OID?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: No rrd file
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 6:35 am 
Apologies but I'm quite new to Cacti and rrd in general.
I've imported your script but my images appear broken...
When debugging it says there is no rrd file.
Any idea why one has not been created??


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 7:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 2:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Balegem, BE
I run into the same problem. Here's what I did

1. imported the xml-template
2. modified the data template 'Printer - HP - Black Toner Max'
2.1. changed the data input source to 'Get SNMP Data'
2.2. and set the OID to .1.3.6.1.2.1.43.11.1.1.8.1.1
3. created a new polling host
3.1 host template set 'Generic SNMP-enabled host'
4. created the data sources
4.1. set data template to the HP Toner Templates
4.2. and the host to the host we just made
5. created a new graph in Graph Management
5.1. selected Graph Template: Printer HP oner Level
5.2. selected the host we made

But somewhere I missed something because cacti refuses to create a graph
When I debug the graph, the DEF fields are missing. :(
This is what is looks like:
Code:
/usr/local/rrdtool-1.0.45/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--title="lexmark OptraColor 1200 - Toner Level" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="" \
AREA:#CDCFC4:"Maximum Toner Level"  \
LINE1:#000000:"Current Toner Level"  \
GPRINT::LAST:"mg of toner remaining\:%8.0lf"


And this is what is should look like:
Code:
/usr/local/rrdtool-1.0.45/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--title="lexmark OptraColor 1200 - Toner Level" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="" \
DEF:a=/home/www/htdocs/cacti/rra/lexmark_optracolor_1200_blk_toner_level_133.rrd:blk_toner_level:AVERAGE \
DEF:b=/home/www/htdocs/cacti/rra/lexmark_optracolor_1200_blk_toner_max_133.rrd:blk_toner_level:AVERAGE \
AREA:b#CDCFC4:"Maximum Toner Level"  \
LINE1:a#000000:"Current Toner Level"  \
GPRINT:a:LAST:"mg of toner remaining\:%8.0lf"


Where did we go wrong? (Novastar would ask :D)

Additional information can be found in http://www.raxnet.net/board/viewtopic.php?t=2831

cya,

Yvan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:22 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:21 am
Posts: 61
anyway for this to work with the 2600n? Its a colour laser so I'd like to monitor levels of all toners.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 8:59 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
Hello ! I'm a newbie with cacti.

It's a graph template, host template or a data template ?

How must I processing to use it ?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:02 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
sorry for my stupid question... lol there are just one solution for importing data in cacti...

sorry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:12 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
I've a problem... xD

My template have this status "Not Being Graphed " why ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:22 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
Select "Create Graphs for this Host", check that Template and "Create"
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:26 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
hum. thanks for your help

Just one question too : What the unit for the level of toner ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 4:28 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Thornton, CO
cryril,
The legend says mg of toner remaining so I would assume miligrams...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:28 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
thanks...

I'm stupid sorry.

There are others templates or scripts for HP printer ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:38 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Posts: 2326
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
You can find a list of templates here.

_________________

HOWTOs :
Templates :


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:27 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
yes I see...

But I can't find a graph template for cheking the spooler of a printer or its queue ... It's possible ?f


Last edited by cyrill on Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 8:59 am
Posts: 1
Hi All,

I was experiencing the same problem as Steve as my pictures were appearing broken and i kept being to there was no rrd file when trying to debug.

I tried of the instructions Yvan had left, they worked great.

Thanks! :D

_________________
| Label Printing | Printed Labels | - PepsiCrazy


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group