[TODO] HP Blade GbE2

Support questions about the MAC Track plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
iancw
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:20 am

[TODO] HP Blade GbE2

#1 Post by iancw » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:21 am

Anyone got yhe script for HP blades, p-class & c-class.

Need it urgently.

Regards.

User avatar
Gorbachov
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:20 pm
Contact:

#2 Post by Gorbachov » Sun May 04, 2008 1:30 pm

I will be happy to see answer of this post too! :)

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#3 Post by TheWitness » Tue May 06, 2008 3:06 pm

I would likely use the generic switch ports discovery method.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

ceyounger
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Orange County, CA
Contact:

#4 Post by ceyounger » Wed May 28, 2008 2:51 pm

TheWitness wrote:I would likely use the generic switch ports discovery method.

TheWitness
+1 on this.

I use generic switch/router and I ignore ports 17:18:19:20:21:22:23:24 (I trunk ports 20-24, 17 and 18 are interlinks, and 19 is mgmt).

MACTRACK works well enough for me this way. Not the greatest, but it works. Hope this helps.

iancw
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:20 am

#5 Post by iancw » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:15 am

Tried generic but isn't working for me. What IOS do you have loaded on the blade switches? (I say IOS 'cos I'm a bit Cisco) ;)

User avatar
smlick
Cacti User
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 4:09 am
Location: Italy, Rome

#6 Post by smlick » Fri Jun 13, 2008 7:35 am

I have also an HP Blade to monitor under Cacti.
I use generic SNMP but I get no description about the interface so I get the graph but I don't understand on wich port.
The HP Blade is an HP ProLiant BL p-Class F-GbE2 and it use Nortel as internal switch.
Have someone an idea or a template to use for graph on cacti.

Tnx
Alessio

msright1981
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 2:39 am

Which HP Blade script are you looking for.

#7 Post by msright1981 » Sat Dec 27, 2008 2:52 am

Hi,

I had read the post, but still not sure which HP Blades script are you looking for:

Is it automated blades installation script?

A switch configuration script? Brocade? Cisco?

A blade Chassis auto configuration script?

Virtual Connect configuration script?

If you clear that out I might be able to help.
Blades is not a part of infra, but your new infra.

[url=http://itcomparison.com/Blades/Bladesdellvshp/Bladeshpvsdell.htm]HP Blade System vs Del Blade System[/url]
[url=http://itcomparison.com/Blades/Bladesibmvshp/Bladesibmvshp.htm]IBM Bladecenter vs IBM Bladecenter[/url]
[url=http://itcomparison.com/Blades/Bladeshpvssun/Bladeshpvssun.htm]HP Blade System vs SUN Blade System[/url]

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#8 Post by TheWitness » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:09 am

Did anyone have to mod MacTrack for this. Would be interested. Working on MacTrack 2.0 at the moment.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Lidberg
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:20 pm

#9 Post by Lidberg » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:30 pm

The 'Generic SNMP-Enabled Host' template works fine with HP Blade servers. We have over 30 inhouse and all of them were successfully scanned the first time around.

The network interfaces start at 257 and go up to 280. If you have 16 blades in a chassis, then they correspond with the blade number. If you have 32 blades in a chassis, then you will have two switches to monitor.

So, here's how the ports are laid out.

257-274 are blade switch ports
275 is the Mgmt port
276-280 are the uplink ports.
Attachments
Cacti-HPBlade.JPG
Cacti-HPBlade.JPG (100.18 KiB) Viewed 11939 times

Post Reply