Monitor Vmware ESX

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
david35
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:48 am

#106 Post by david35 » Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:57 am

Now every thing seems ok except one thing.

Sometimes Cacti is instabled. I have empty graphs.
More often with CPU graph.
But not for all VMs in the same time.
It's a bit weird.
Does anybody has the same pb ?

david35
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:48 am

#107 Post by david35 » Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:08 am

Ok, I've found my pb.
My VMs are on a cluster of ESX.
My graph are for only one ESX but my VM have been switch to another.
:-(
So if I have 2 ESX, to graph CPU of one VM I have to generate 2 graphs.

YoMarK
Cacti User
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:36 am
Location: Eindhoven/The Netherlands

#108 Post by YoMarK » Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:00 pm

Then don't monitor your VM's with ESX(only use this template to monitor ESX and Service Console), there is no reason to do this.
Just treat them like normal physical machines, and then you could use all the other templates on this forum.

gsaray101
Cacti User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Contact:

esx servers

#109 Post by gsaray101 » Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:45 pm

I have esx servers 3.5. When I try to walk the enterprise mibs, this is what I get:

D:\cacti\scripts>snmpwalk -v2c -c <password> <IP Address> .1.3.6.1.4.1.6876
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.1.0 = STRING: "VMware ESX Server"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.2.0 = STRING: "3.5.0"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.3.0 = OID: SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.60.1.3.5.0
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.4.0 = STRING: "113339"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.1.1.0 = INTEGER: 4
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.2.1.0 = INTEGER: 8383808
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.2.2.0 = INTEGER: 278528
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.2.3.0 = INTEGER: 8105280
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.4.1.1.1.0 = STRING: "yes"

I dont get any cpu, memory or interface statistics. Has anybody experience this problem?

Thanks,

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

#110 Post by phalek » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:04 pm

did you try everything i posted here:
http://forums.cacti.net/post-150198.htm ... ht=#150198
?
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

gsaray101
Cacti User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Contact:

esx servers

#111 Post by gsaray101 » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:31 pm

yes, I did everything you recommended, still not getting any data back from the enterprise mib.

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

#112 Post by phalek » Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:45 am

hm, I had the same problem, mainly because the upgrade to 3.5.0 killed the localhost entry in the hosts file. Other than the stuff i provided I did nothing to fix the problem I had ...

well, except the VM stats are missing as lone as they are not running/poweredOn ... :-)
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

dmarshall99
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:14 pm

How I graph ESX with Cacti

#113 Post by dmarshall99 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:15 pm

I found the snmp info very lacking. I've scripted esxtop. I've written up what I did here:

http://bable.cybermarshall.com/2008/12/ ... ith-cacti/

gsaray101
Cacti User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Contact:

esx 3.5

#114 Post by gsaray101 » Wed Feb 04, 2009 5:03 pm

this is not working for me, after I've made the recommenation. cpu, dis, mem and network is not coming back with any entry. However, when I manually walk the oids listed in the scripts, it is coming back with some data. Anybody faced with this?

gsaray101
Cacti User
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Contact:

disk space monitoring for vm servers within esx

#115 Post by gsaray101 » Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:45 pm

what about disk space for vm in esx? Does anybody has a script to graph vm's disk space?

Wannes
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 6:22 am

#116 Post by Wannes » Fri May 22, 2009 4:19 am

I'm currently monitoring the network traffic of the VM's within my ESX, but sometimes I tend to get "bogus" peaks of 93Gb network traffic. Which ultimately ruin my graphs.
Is there any way to prevent this? And is this an ESX problem or a Cacti problem?
Attachments
bogus.jpg
bogus.jpg (71.23 KiB) Viewed 10663 times

netocool
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:11 pm

#117 Post by netocool » Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:48 am

this template seen do not support for cacti-0.87d

dose any body update it?

thanks.

Throbulator
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:09 am

Bump

#118 Post by Throbulator » Fri Jun 12, 2009 3:01 pm

Bumping thread... Does the ESX VMWare Server Template work with Cacti 0.8.7d?

(edited for clarification)

taliz
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:38 am

Re: Create Cacti or op5 Statistics graphs with op5 ESX3 plug

#119 Post by taliz » Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:26 am

scpetand wrote:Hi

I have created a howto to graph Vmware ESX IO by using a nagios plugin developed by op5.
Take a look at http://www.it-slav.net/blogs/?p=262

Regards
Peter Andersson
[email protected]
check_esx3.pl is a nice script and I've started using it to create graphs of cpu, memory etc. Although it consumes enormous amounts of cpu when running, any idea why?
Doesn't matter which command you run, everything takes 3-7 seconds on my 2x quad 2,5ghz machine, and it consume 100% cpu. This means that I cannot poll/graph as many hosts and vm's as I'd like unfortunately.. :-?


EDIT: I'm not a programmer myself, but I ran DProf and dprofpp on it and noticed that it makes more than 550 000 calls to LibXML. Doesn't seem right..

EDIT2: Ran the sample scripts by vmware, and they behave just as bad, so I guess vmware toolkit is the culpŕit. I've posted in the vmware forums as well to see if I can get an answer to this.

EDIT3: http://communities.vmware.com/thread/213515?tstart=0

kenny29
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:38 am

Bog peaks network traffic

#120 Post by kenny29 » Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:43 am

Hi,

I'm currently monitoring the network traffic of the VM's within my ESX and I have exactly the same problem that Wannes. I'm using Cacti 0.8.6j.

I was testing the network bandwith with a ftp transfert lock to 512 kbytes/s and on the graph there was 512 Kbytes/s.

But during the transfert I don't know why on the graph there is a peak to 13 Gbytes/s.... and if I zoom on the graph I can see that after this peak the traffic returned to normal state (512 Kb/s)

So I will ask the same questions "Is there any way to prevent this? And is this an ESX problem or a Cacti problem?

Thanks

Post Reply