[HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows

If you figure out how to do something interesting/cool in Cacti and want to share it with the community, please post your experience here.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
abhijitdas
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:58 am

Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows

#31 Post by abhijitdas » Mon Dec 15, 2008 8:20 am

hi, fmangeant

I have gone through the all the question and answer of the "Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows". Now I have done all the steps correctly according to your answers. I am giving the points as
1. I installed net-snmp-5.4.2.1-1.win32.exe and followed your steps.
2. I am getting all the relevent o/p of the command as you mentioned.
3. In the log file ,C:\usr\log\snmpd.log , I am getting only
NET-SNMP version 5.4.2.1,
Is it correct?
4. I did not do anything about snmptrap.

Now, I have seen that sometime stop and start od snmp are not working correctly.

My requirement is , to get the CPU load. I did
1. install the net-snmp
2. get the jar of snmp " snmp-1.3.jar" ,
3. JRobinLite-1.5.9.1.tar.gz - for getting the CPU load.

Now, I do i know that my net-snmp is working correctly. Is the log info. is correct. :roll: :roll:

The java file of JRobin shows exception ....
The error is in
public static final String SNMP_CPU_LOAD_OID = "1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.10.1.3.1";

not able to retrive.

Thanks

Abhijit

Torocatala
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:24 am

Re: Unknown Token

#32 Post by Torocatala » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:31 am

Brashquido wrote:For those getting unknown token warnings when running SNMP queries, make sure you have set an environment variable called SNMPCONF-PATH to the path of your Net-SNMP snmp.conf file
Yep, i have that "unknown token" problem monitoring a windows client, but i don't understand your message.

This is the data on my C:\usr\etc\snmp\snmp.conf

mibdirs C:/usr/share/snmp/mibs
persistentDir C:/usr/snmp/persist
tempFilePattern C:/usr/temp/snmpdXXXXXX
rocommunity public


And this is what happen when i do the snmpwalk:

C:\Documents and Settings\Admin>snmpwalk.exe -v 1 -c public localhost sysdesc
C:/usr/etc/snmp/snmp.conf: line 4: Warning: Unknown token: rocommunity.
Timeout: No Response from localhost


¿Any idea?


Never mind, I was editing snmp.conf not snmpd.conf X_X

John Gilik
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:17 pm

Re: Executed.

#33 Post by John Gilik » Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:02 pm

elayaraja.s wrote:C:\net-snmp\bin>snmpwalk.exe -v 1 -c public localhost versiontag
Output: UCD-SNMP-MIB::versionTag.0 = STRING: 5.4.1

C:\net-snmp\bin>snmpwalk.exe -v 1 -c public localhost sysdesc
Output: No output.....Its blank..
I had this same issue, and resolved it by installing Cacti as a service manually through the command line. Instead of running "Register Agent Service" from the Start Menu, I ran the following in the command line after installing Net-SNMP: "snmpd -register -Lf c:/snmpderr.log". Change c:/snmpderr.log to where you'd like it to log errors.


EDIT: This appears to just re-enable Net-SNMP's built in modules. I'm now toying with explicitly proxying requests.

EDIT 2: I used the above directions to install as a service, and then did the following:

Installing Net-SNMP as a proxy:

1. Install Microsoft SNMP Agent as normal
2. Run "notepad c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\services", find snmp, replace 161 with 1161
3. Start or restart Microsoft SNMP Agent
4. Edit your snmpd.conf--add community strings and a line saying "proxy -v 1 -c <COMMUNITY_STRING> localhost:1161 .1.3"
5. Start or restart Net-SNMP service

If you get timeouts while trying to do a walk, make sure both SNMP services are running. Works perfectly for me so far.

achuta bodepu
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:36 am

#34 Post by achuta bodepu » Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:05 am

I would like to know how to create snmptrapd.conf file for snmp traps. My NET-SNMP version is 5.5. Net-SNMP trap handler is running as services.Please help me.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

razor620
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:06 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#35 Post by razor620 » Tue May 31, 2011 2:27 am

Hi,

Firstly, thank you for the tutorial.


Then i have a little problem, and i hope than you will able to help me.

So i have installed Net-SNMP on windows with your tutorial. All feature work except the "proc" directive. I have used this directive on Linux and it's very useful to look for specific process that's why i ask if they are an issue use this directive on windows ?

I have searched on google for long (long long... :cry: ) time without issue...However, i have read that it's was probably not implemented on windows. Someone have an idea of issue to have the same features (trap on stop or too many process, get the state of one type of process...) without HOST-RESSOURCE-MIB.

Thank you :)

(Sorry for my bad english, i hope than my explication is understandable).

Daniell
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:18 am
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#36 Post by Daniell » Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:47 am

Have found more detailed How-To-Install SNMP:
www.manageengine.com/products/applicati ... overy.html
i personally combined this one www.netadmintools.com/art487.html with yours. Thanks!

imfv
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 11:04 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#37 Post by imfv » Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:44 pm

I´m having some problem with SNMP v3, I followed the HOW TO and the 2 link above.
I created a user at snmpd.conf too and still getting this error.

Encryption support not enabled.
snmpwalk: USM encryption error

my net-snmp was installed with Cacti instalation for windows:
If I check Log i get only:
NET-SNMP version 5.6.1.1

Any tips to help how to make SNMP v3 on windows 2k3?
I need to make this work to try to make a template to Mcafee IPS.

Thanks.
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants." Isaac Newton

nortuas
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 4:02 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#38 Post by nortuas » Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:07 pm

Thanks for this HOWTO, very interesting !

isabellaleo
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:20 pm

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#39 Post by isabellaleo » Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:25 pm

Hi, im having problems with these.

I ran the net-snmp installer and followed all the steps, then i've tried to verify that Net-SNMP was installed correctly running the following from a command prompt:

snmptranslate -IR -Td IF-MIB::linkDown

And what i can see is these

Does someone know what can i do? help!
Attachments
16.png
Does someone know what is happening?
16.png (20.22 KiB) Viewed 17634 times

storageguy
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:43 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#40 Post by storageguy » Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:47 am

When SNMP daemon starts, any error message is logged in C:\usr\log.

In my case, I resolved timeout problem by
1) Creating snmpd.conf file using snmpconf -g basic_setup
2) moving the snmpd.conf file from C:\usr\share\snmp to c:\usr\etc\snmp

LetsGo67
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:03 am

Re: Unknown Token

#41 Post by LetsGo67 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:26 am

Torocatala wrote:
Brashquido wrote:For those getting unknown token warnings when running SNMP queries, make sure you have set an environment variable called SNMPCONF-PATH to the path of your Net-SNMP snmp.conf file
Yep, i have that "unknown token" problem monitoring a windows client, but i don't understand your message.

This is the data on my C:\usr\etc\snmp\snmp.conf

mibdirs C:/usr/share/snmp/mibs
persistentDir C:/usr/snmp/persist
tempFilePattern C:/usr/temp/snmpdXXXXXX
rocommunity public


And this is what happen when i do the snmpwalk:

C:\Documents and Settings\Admin>snmpwalk.exe -v 1 -c public localhost sysdesc
C:/usr/etc/snmp/snmp.conf: line 4: Warning: Unknown token: rocommunity.
Timeout: No Response from localhost


¿Any idea?


Never mind, I was editing snmp.conf not snmpd.conf X_X
snmpd.conf doesn't exist for me... or maybe i need to downgrade? i use 5.7.0 NET-SNMP

Code: Select all

snmpconf -i

The following installed configuration files were found:

   1:  c:/usr/etc/snmp/snmp.conf

Would you like me to read them in?  Their content will be merged with the
output files created by this session.

Valid answer examples: "all", "none","3","1,2,5"

                                                                                                              Read in which (default = all):

hillda01
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:04 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#42 Post by hillda01 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:23 pm

Hi,

I've followed the steps and I've got net-snmp installed on my Windows server 2008 R2 machine.

In Cacti - I don't seem to be able to have the option to choose a graph to show available disk space.

I've added the device net-snmp device however when I chose graphs I don't have Net-SNMP - Available Disk Space even though I see it as a template....

any ideas anyone?

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2792
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#43 Post by netniV » Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:21 am

If you device is based on a device template, add the graph template to the device template, then resync the device template to devices.

hillda01
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:04 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#44 Post by hillda01 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:24 am

Apologies for being not quite so switched on with this but how do I go about copying the template...

I've looked in the interface and it's not immediately obvious.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2792
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: [HOWTO] Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Win

#45 Post by netniV » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:37 am

You shouldn't need to copy the template if you are just adding a new graph template to the device template. You just add it on the device template.

Post Reply