Cisco catOS host template

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
adesimone

Cisco catOS host template

#1 Post by adesimone » Thu Jul 15, 2004 11:32 am

host template with -

- cpu
- memory
- backplane usage

- interface

This *only* works for catOS switches

Exported with cacti 8.5a / PHP 4.3.2 and cactihistoric
Attachments
cacti_host_template_cisco_catos_switch.xml
(133.53 KiB) Downloaded 8353 times

Alberto Rueda

Catalyst XML

#2 Post by Alberto Rueda » Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:44 pm

Ho do you install it ?? could you provide a step by step guide ??? I am kind of new with cacti.

Thanks,

Guest

#3 Post by Guest » Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:28 am

Great job man! Everything works great!

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#4 Post by TheWitness » Tue Jul 27, 2004 4:57 pm

Does this support multiple supervisors? Does it support portname?

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#5 Post by TheWitness » Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:16 pm

Answered all my own questions. Note: Cisco Cactalyst switches with dual supervisors will not report interfaces properly using the standard Interface.xml file. I am looking at a custom Interface.xml file that will address not only the problem with incorrect Indexes, but will also provide PortName's.

Sorry for the bad news. Otherwise, great job!!!

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Xanathar
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 1:47 pm

#6 Post by Xanathar » Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:36 am

Was an updated template that worked with dual supervisors ever posted somewhere?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#7 Post by TheWitness » Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:37 am

It works with dual supervisors. My bad. However, when I attempted to integrate "PortNames" into the template, it did not work. Therefore, all is Ok for now. Portnames to come.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Basilio Cat
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:13 pm

#8 Post by Basilio Cat » Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:26 am

I've found that CatOS doesn't use ifIndex for getting port names, you need port number instead =(

http://cvs.netmrg.net/index.cgi/src/map ... pp?rev=1.7
See code near "// use CatOS port name in place of ifAlias"

luckyeraser
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 5:13 am

#9 Post by luckyeraser » Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:29 pm

News regarding Portnames on CatOS ?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#10 Post by TheWitness » Wed Mar 09, 2005 8:37 pm

There was a new feature released in 0.8.6c that will allow the creation of the PortName and Catalyst template. I just don't have time to write it.

Sorry,

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

cgoodness
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 10:03 am

New to this forum...

#11 Post by cgoodness » Tue Mar 15, 2005 10:23 am

I'll have to apogize in advance, i'm new to cacti and to this forum, but am very interested in getting this XML import to work. Could someone briefly detail just how to import this XML and what to do after it's imported? Sorry if this is a review.

C.

ssams
Cacti User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

#12 Post by ssams » Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:36 pm

has anyone gotten this going? i made a copy of my interfaces.xml and modified the ifindex to portname and changed the oid. when i use this and do a verbose query i see the the info correct. when i add the devices i get the interfaces and see the portnames however they don't match the actual port that they belong to. is there a fix for this?


thanks
Image

dgamble
Cacti User
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, CA

portName

#13 Post by dgamble » Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:57 pm

If someone could give me pointers on setting this up, I would gladly make a XML file/template that would do this and upload it.

I can see that the portNames are under .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.4.1.1.4, but they appear to be indexed differently, using their interface numbers instead. So if one could somehow get the interface name, sub the /'s out for a dots, and then add that onto this OID, that would give you the portName. Not sure how/if this could be done, or if there is another way to do it.

dgamble
Cacti User
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, CA

Can't make a template...

#14 Post by dgamble » Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:01 pm

Well, after poring over the documentation for a bit, I just don't see how it's possible to integrate this into a query that can get the traffic goodies out of the IF-MIB table. The indexes are different than the IF-MIC indexes, unfortunately, and aren't stored in the OID or anything.

Perhaps someone can think of something I'm missing!

rwintle
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 11:47 am

CatOS MIB info

#15 Post by rwintle » Sun May 01, 2005 12:36 pm

When you walk .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.4.1.1.4 the switch returns the names for each port. The reason the indexs do not match up is that the switch uses slot and port for the index in .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.4.1.1.4.

Example:

.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.5.1.4.1.1.4.3.39 is the portname for slot 3 port 39.

Does this help? I hope someone can help create a template now so we can get these descriptions working!

Thanks,

--Rod

Post Reply