VoIP Channels in Use on Cisco AS5300 and like Access Routers

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
barryo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

VoIP Channels in Use on Cisco AS5300 and like Access Routers

#1 Post by barryo » Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:23 pm

I have created a simple graph template to show me how many of channels are in use on each of the four E1s on Cisco AS5300 series and similar access routers.

An example of the graph after a few hours of polling:

Image

The most up to date version (if there is a newer one) will always be available from Open Solutions' website or the initial version as attached here. A reference to SNMP MIBs/OIDs used can also be found at BarryODonovan.com.

The only minor problem with this is that there are four separate data sources configured to correspond to each of the E1's. I'm sure there is a way to index the SNMP replies, etc but I needed a quick turn around on this.

Any comments, improvements, etc, please feel free to contact me or post below.

Thanks,
Barry O'Donovan
Open Solutions
http://www.opensolutions.ie/
Attachments
cacti_graph_template_as5300_channels_in_use.xml
XML graph template with all dependencies
(28.54 KiB) Downloaded 5029 times

churchi
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 am

#2 Post by churchi » Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:45 pm

Hi Barry,

very handy this graph would be for us at my company as well.

just wondering if you know weather this would work with 2600XM's and 2811 routers with T1 cards and E1 cards in them?
do you think the oids will line up from your graph?

Thanks

barryo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

#3 Post by barryo » Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:55 am

Hey churchi,

I don't know for sure, but it's very easy to change the OIDs on the template. You can find what's available using standard SNMP tools.

I put more information on the OIDs I use and the MIB on http://www.barryodonovan.com/index.php/ ... 00-e1-use/

Hope that helps,
Barry

churchi
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 am

#4 Post by churchi » Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:40 am

hey Barryo

thanks mate, i have checked the OID values on our 2610XM for our T1 module that you have put up on your website and it is a perfect match.

now one problem, i tried to import this graph into my cacti test box, and it said Error: XML: Hash version does not exist.
i am guessing this was made in a newer version.

i have 0.8.6h.

what version did you export this from? as i would like to make use of the graph you have made.

barryo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

#5 Post by barryo » Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:08 am

churchi,

I used cacti-0.8.6j to create and export the graph.

- Barry

churchi
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 am

#6 Post by churchi » Tue Apr 10, 2007 6:33 am

hi barry,

hmm np at all. that seems to be the problem. i will have to upgrade and then import the template.

thanks for the reply.

have you had the need to graph any other items from the voice gateways?

just trying to get some ideas of what else i could graph :)

barryo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

#7 Post by barryo » Tue Apr 10, 2007 6:51 am

Hey,

I graph all the usual stuff that's either available by default or that I added (if you don't have it, just shout and I'll post here):

* Cisco - CPU Usage
* Cisco - IO Memory
* Cisco - Processor Memory
* Interface statistics (e.g. Traffic (bits/sec), Errors/Discards

There's a lot of useful information available for the E1 traffic such as average call lengths, successful calls, etc, etc.

I put the Channels in Use together for a colleague, and if he finds it useful then I'll look into graphing the other information.

I reckon average or last call lengths might be very useful for identifying quality problems.

- Barry

http://www.barryodonovan.com/

churchi
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 am

#8 Post by churchi » Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:10 am

I reckon average or last call lengths might be very useful for identifying quality problems.
Barry that would be very useful in deed. please post here if you do create a graph for these. woudl be a great addition to add to our voice gateway graphs.

do you have a graph or know the OID for the packets in and out per second for any interface on a cisco device? that would be very handy. i would like to add them to our router graphs.

cheers

barryo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:07 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

#9 Post by barryo » Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:14 am

churchi,

I'll certainly post anything new here.

An SNMP walk in a similar fashion as shown on my blog should help you find those OIDs for packets in/out. I don't have them to hand right now.

Cisco also have a MIB browser on their website that's useful:

http://tools.cisco.com/Support/SNMP/do/ ... =en&step=2

- Barry
http://www.opensolutions.ie/

churchi
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 am

#10 Post by churchi » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:53 am

hey barryo,

thanks for the tips.

i personally find the cisco website for MIB browsing hard to use (im still learning.) is there an easier way to find the exact OID value without having to list all of the results like the integers and other useless numbers?

however today i was trying to setup graphing for one of our 2600 routers for the E1 interface. all my other graphs worked perfectly with the OID of .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.10.19.1.1.9.1.3.1.0 for any E1 that is in the position of E0/0 or E0/1. however we have a few routers with the E1 card in the E1/0 and E1/1 slots. i was unable to find the correct OID to browse the active calls like on this OID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.10.19.1.1.9.1.3.1.0

just wondering if you could help me to work out how to find out the OID value for the E1/? interface please?

also (forgive me as i am quite new to this and how i am to find the correct OID value for the information i am after,) but how or what is the easiest way to find the value for the E1/? interfaces on a 2600 when for the E0/? interface this OID (.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.10.19.1.1.9.1.3.1.0) works perfectly?

any help would be much appreciated.

cheers

ghazanfari
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 am

Re: VoIP Channels in Use on Cisco AS5300 and like Access Rou

#11 Post by ghazanfari » Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:42 pm

Thx :D
Last edited by ghazanfari on Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:59 am, edited 3 times in total.

ghazanfari
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:29 am

Re: VoIP Channels in Use on Cisco AS5300 and like Access Rou

#12 Post by ghazanfari » Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:52 am

Hi;
I have 8 port on cisco not 4 port , can You help me add more port ,
Thx

begemoti
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:05 am
Location: Gudauri, Georgia

#13 Post by begemoti » Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:44 am

I've made template for AS5350 8E1s.
graph are not really pretty, but it shows numbers.
Attachments
e1s.png
e1s.png (59.95 KiB) Viewed 42762 times
cacti_graph_template_cisco_5350_ds0-7.xml
(44.89 KiB) Downloaded 2726 times

syedbilalmasaud
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:48 am
Location: Bahrain
Contact:

#14 Post by syedbilalmasaud » Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:03 am

For that Template you have to use at least cacti ver .87b to make it work and use this template if above template will not work with Cisco

This template is purely tested on Cisco AS5400 , so go and use it , its working

Please give me your reviews and this is my first template so please forgive me if i made some mistakes

Note :- I have modified the above template

System Requirements

Cacti :- 0.87b
rrdtool :1.2xxxx


Regards,
Bilal
Attachments
cacti_graph_template_cisco_5400_ds0-7.xml
Template to monitor E1 Channels status on Cisco AS5400
(51.7 KiB) Downloaded 2286 times

tundeoyeyemi
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:14 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

VoIP Channels in Use on Cisco AS5300 and like Access Routers

#15 Post by tundeoyeyemi » Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:19 pm

I have tried to use the respective template but non worked.I'm using C5400-IS-M, Version 12.4(7c). Kindly help me out

Post Reply