FatPipe Templates

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
eddievenus
Cacti User
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:01 pm

FatPipe Templates

#1 Post by eddievenus » Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:27 pm

This is my first attempt at making templates. So needless to say they are pretty basic. I followed no intructions, I just played around until they worked. So again needless to say they can be refined. I would love to know more about creating better templates. After I made these (aobut 3 months ago now) I read the howto on doing it. It sounded vaguely similar to what I did, and I used some if what I learned to modify them.

For all they may lack in polish they make up for in the fact that they work, and are pretty freakin easy to set up and use. I monitor 4 FatPipes, all from WAN interfaces with these templates. I am not sure how you are supposed to import them. As in what order to import them, I figure someone else may know, and hopefully they can post the correct procedure.

If you are not familiar with FatPipe, it is a WAN aggregation device. They call it router clustering, but that is fancy marketing speak for WAN aggregation. In any case I am only interested in Ineterface stats, CPU and RAM on these boxes, so that is all that is included. Since they are esentially Linux, they can supply many standard linux MIB objects. There is a custom MIB for a fatpipe box, though it does not help at all with any of the interface stats, only with some static info like the product version, serial number, etc.

Enjoy.
Eddie Venus
Attachments
cacti_fatpipe_templates.zip
FatPipe Host template, Graph Templates, and Data Templates.
(37.92 KiB) Downloaded 709 times

eddievenus
Cacti User
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:01 pm

#2 Post by eddievenus » Thu Dec 08, 2005 6:34 pm

I have come to learn that RRA Definitions are included (cause "include dependencies" was checked). Who knows what my RRAs contain And I hear that THEY WILL OVERRIDE YOUR SETTINGS. So please check them before importing and reset to your previous settings, if modified.

I got this (almost verbatim) from this post
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=10491

Thanks, and good luck.

p.s. I do polling every minute, keep a years worth of 1 minute samples and still have all the rest set to defaults. I am not sure if this will make changes to any of that on your system or not, but that is how my RRAs are set up.

I use MIN, MAX, AVE and LAST on Hourly, Daily and Weekly. I use MAX, AVE and LAST on Monthly and Yearly.

Hope that can be avoided, it sounds like it can, but be aware of it.

Eddie Venus

spoonman
Cacti User
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:54 am
Location: GA

#3 Post by spoonman » Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:09 pm

Eddie
Do you still graph Fatpipe appliances?? We have 2 inplace and would like to graph the active node...have you made any updates?

Thanks

Post Reply