Cisco Environmental Monitoring (Temp, Voltage, Fan, Power)

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
maxxic
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:52 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

#61 Post by maxxic » Mon May 05, 2008 12:41 am

to gandalf:
Very useful Templates!! Thanx gandalf!

to all:
In my network work with Cisco Router 7206, Cisco Router 3845, Cisco Router 28xx, Cisco Catalyst 3560/3550.
Other Cisco Router and switch sach as Cisco 26xx, 1721-1760, Catalyst 2950/2960 have not temperature sensor.
Sapienti sat

User avatar
Gorbachov
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:20 pm
Contact:

#62 Post by Gorbachov » Mon May 05, 2008 2:05 am

Hey :) Nice script but on my ASA 5510 devices there are no sensors? Is that true?

User avatar
maxxic
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:52 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

#63 Post by maxxic » Mon May 05, 2008 3:22 am

Gorbachov wrote:Hey :) Nice script but on my ASA 5510 devices there are no sensors? Is that true?
Hm... I think there are.
I will check on my ASA5540 and then post to you later.

P.S. Ты чо с России, судя по нику?
Sapienti sat

User avatar
Gorbachov
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:20 pm
Contact:

#64 Post by Gorbachov » Mon May 05, 2008 3:33 am

maxxic wrote:
Gorbachov wrote:Hey :) Nice script but on my ASA 5510 devices there are no sensors? Is that true?
Hm... I think there are.
I will check on my ASA5540 and then post to you later.

P.S. Ты чо с России, судя по нику?
Close :) I am from Bulgaria, my nick is inspired by the History of this person Gorbachov.

User avatar
maxxic
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:52 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

#65 Post by maxxic » Mon May 05, 2008 4:10 am

Gorbachov wrote:Hey :) Nice script but on my ASA 5510 devices there are no sensors? Is that true?
Very strange.
My ASA5540 don't give temperature data. I don't find in snmp OIDs any looks like temperature info. So expansive device haven't sensors. :(
Sapienti sat

User avatar
Gorbachov
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 12:20 pm
Contact:

#66 Post by Gorbachov » Tue May 06, 2008 1:27 am

It seems that there are no sensors. I make some research on google without any luck.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#67 Post by gandalf » Tue May 06, 2008 2:02 pm

Be carefully! With newer IOS versions, even routers that were graphing previously do NOT provide infos for those OIDs any more. I did not dig into it, as I'm not a Cisco networking guy
Reinhard

ikramahamed
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:27 pm
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Cisco Environmental Monitoring for cacti Version 0.8.7b

#68 Post by ikramahamed » Sun Jul 06, 2008 5:09 am

Is this template available for cacti Version 0.8.7b.

PeterV
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:33 am

#69 Post by PeterV » Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:37 am

For me it works if I manually enter the XML data gatherer in the directory as described.

richmond
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:12 am

Dealing with multiple Temp sensors.

#70 Post by richmond » Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:00 pm

So for a device like a 650X how does this handle the large array of sensors?
To be more precise...
OID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.2 contains a bunch of STRINGS about the available temp sensors, in my case a 6509 with 45 different sensors including inlet and outlet temps for each card.
example:
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.2.60050 = STRING: "module 5 outlet temperature"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.2.60051 = STRING: "module 5 inlet temperature"


OID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.3 contains the GAUGE values for each of these sensors.
example:
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.3.60050 = Gauge32: 28
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.3.60051 = Gauge32: 22


OID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.4 contains INTEGER values of the threshold temps for each sensor.
example:
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.4.60051 = INTEGER: 60
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.4.60052 = INTEGER: 70

What I am looking for is being able to handle all of these with an environment plugin, possibly subdividing each module(blade) into a separate graph as a single one for all temps might be a bit much.

lozzd
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:13 pm
Contact:

#71 Post by lozzd » Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:33 am

That would be nice. Funnily enough I'm looking for exactly the same thing for our 6509s.

chet
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 12:49 pm

#72 Post by chet » Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:10 pm

How do I use this, I have copied the cisco-envmon_temp and _voltage to my /resourse/snmp_queries dir but I do not know what to do after this stage

Can somebody help please

Chet

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#73 Post by BSOD2600 » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:14 pm

I updated the temperature and voltage templates/scripts to include the State attribute ( normal(1), warning(2), critical(3), shutdown(4), notPresent(5), notFunctioning(6)). This makes it easier to use the Threashold plugin for alerting on failures. If you add the Cisco MIBs to your system and configure PHP properly, it'll show the textual state instead of number.

I also added EnvMon Fan and Power[supply] templates/scripts. These only provide State information.

All of these templates/scripts all use the CISCO-ENVMON-MIB. Not all Cisco devices support them all. Exported with Cacti 0.8.7d.

Daniele
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:17 am

Error: XML: Hash version does not exist.

#74 Post by Daniele » Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:57 am

I tried upgrade templates

(cacti_data_query_cisco_-_envmon_-_fan.xml
cacti_data_query_cisco_-_envmon_-_power.xml
cacti_data_query_cisco_-_envmon_-_temperature.xml
cacti_data_query_cisco_-_envmon_-_voltage.xml)

Error: XML: Hash version does not exist.

my version cacti 0.8.7b

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#75 Post by BSOD2600 » Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:46 pm

If you had searched on the forums, you'd know that means you cannot import a newer template on an older Cacti installation.

Post Reply