Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 16  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 12
Now every thing seems ok except one thing.

Sometimes Cacti is instabled. I have empty graphs.
More often with CPU graph.
But not for all VMs in the same time.
It's a bit weird.
Does anybody has the same pb ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 12
Ok, I've found my pb.
My VMs are on a cluster of ESX.
My graph are for only one ESX but my VM have been switch to another.
:-(
So if I have 2 ESX, to graph CPU of one VM I have to generate 2 graphs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:00 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:36 am
Posts: 78
Location: Eindhoven/The Netherlands
Then don't monitor your VM's with ESX(only use this template to monitor ESX and Service Console), there is no reason to do this.
Just treat them like normal physical machines, and then you could use all the other templates on this forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: esx servers
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:45 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Posts: 233
I have esx servers 3.5. When I try to walk the enterprise mibs, this is what I get:

D:\cacti\scripts>snmpwalk -v2c -c <password> <IP Address> .1.3.6.1.4.1.6876
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.1.0 = STRING: "VMware ESX Server"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.2.0 = STRING: "3.5.0"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.3.0 = OID: SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.60.1.3.5.0
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.1.4.0 = STRING: "113339"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.1.1.0 = INTEGER: 4
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.2.1.0 = INTEGER: 8383808
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.2.2.0 = INTEGER: 278528
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.3.2.3.0 = INTEGER: 8105280
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.6876.4.1.1.1.0 = STRING: "yes"

I dont get any cpu, memory or interface statistics. Has anybody experience this problem?

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:04 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Posts: 2707
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
did you try everything i posted here:
http://forums.cacti.net/post-150198.htm ... ht=#150198
?

_________________
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code:
CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: esx servers
PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:31 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Posts: 233
yes, I did everything you recommended, still not getting any data back from the enterprise mib.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 4:45 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Posts: 2707
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
hm, I had the same problem, mainly because the upgrade to 3.5.0 killed the localhost entry in the hosts file. Other than the stuff i provided I did nothing to fix the problem I had ...

well, except the VM stats are missing as lone as they are not running/poweredOn ... :-)

_________________
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code:
CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: How I graph ESX with Cacti
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:14 pm
Posts: 1
I found the snmp info very lacking. I've scripted esxtop. I've written up what I did here:

http://bable.cybermarshall.com/2008/12/ ... ith-cacti/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: esx 3.5
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 5:03 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Posts: 233
this is not working for me, after I've made the recommenation. cpu, dis, mem and network is not coming back with any entry. However, when I manually walk the oids listed in the scripts, it is coming back with some data. Anybody faced with this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: disk space monitoring for vm servers within esx
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:45 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:18 am
Posts: 233
what about disk space for vm in esx? Does anybody has a script to graph vm's disk space?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 4
I'm currently monitoring the network traffic of the VM's within my ESX, but sometimes I tend to get "bogus" peaks of 93Gb network traffic. Which ultimately ruin my graphs.
Is there any way to prevent this? And is this an ESX problem or a Cacti problem?


Attachments:
bogus.jpg
bogus.jpg [ 71.23 KiB | Viewed 10420 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:11 pm
Posts: 7
this template seen do not support for cacti-0.87d

dose any body update it?

thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Bump
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:09 am
Posts: 15
Bumping thread... Does the ESX VMWare Server Template work with Cacti 0.8.7d?

(edited for clarification)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Create Cacti or op5 Statistics graphs with op5 ESX3 plug
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:38 am
Posts: 22
scpetand wrote:
Hi

I have created a howto to graph Vmware ESX IO by using a nagios plugin developed by op5.
Take a look at http://www.it-slav.net/blogs/?p=262

Regards
Peter Andersson
[email protected]


check_esx3.pl is a nice script and I've started using it to create graphs of cpu, memory etc. Although it consumes enormous amounts of cpu when running, any idea why?
Doesn't matter which command you run, everything takes 3-7 seconds on my 2x quad 2,5ghz machine, and it consume 100% cpu. This means that I cannot poll/graph as many hosts and vm's as I'd like unfortunately.. :-?


EDIT: I'm not a programmer myself, but I ran DProf and dprofpp on it and noticed that it makes more than 550 000 calls to LibXML. Doesn't seem right..

EDIT2: Ran the sample scripts by vmware, and they behave just as bad, so I guess vmware toolkit is the culpŕit. I've posted in the vmware forums as well to see if I can get an answer to this.

EDIT3: http://communities.vmware.com/thread/213515?tstart=0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Bog peaks network traffic
PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:38 am
Posts: 25
Hi,

I'm currently monitoring the network traffic of the VM's within my ESX and I have exactly the same problem that Wannes. I'm using Cacti 0.8.6j.

I was testing the network bandwith with a ftp transfert lock to 512 kbytes/s and on the graph there was 512 Kbytes/s.

But during the transfert I don't know why on the graph there is a peak to 13 Gbytes/s.... and if I zoom on the graph I can see that after this peak the traffic returned to normal state (512 Kb/s)

So I will ask the same questions "Is there any way to prevent this? And is this an ESX problem or a Cacti problem?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 16  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group