Syslog monitor addon beta

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
bmarofsky
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Location: Southington, CT

#286 Post by bmarofsky » Tue May 20, 2008 1:28 pm

I have attached a screen shot of my working Kiwi setup.
Attachments
Kiwi.doc
(56.5 KiB) Downloaded 669 times
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)

User avatar
bmarofsky
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Location: Southington, CT

#287 Post by bmarofsky » Wed May 21, 2008 1:13 pm

harlequin wrote:Glad you got the colors fixed - I should probably document that a bit better.
I'll look into adding an 'and above' option to the priority select - makes sense. Cheers,
Harlequin
I would like to see the 'and above' feature added as well.
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)

sterpstra
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:48 pm
Location: So Cal
Contact:

Undefined index

#288 Post by sterpstra » Mon Jun 16, 2008 5:50 pm

Hi all:

I've got a weird error... I setup the syslog plugin successfully but initially when i went to the plugin, i got a :

Notice: Undefined index: ses_current_timespan in <cacti_path>/plugins/syslog/html/syslog_timespan_selector.php on line 75...

BUT, I igorned the error for a while, added a few syslog clients then came back and the error was gone... now, I have added some more clients and the error is back again.

Anyone have any ideas?

-st

mcutting
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:57 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: changing syslog_text_color causes syslog_color to go awa

#289 Post by mcutting » Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:44 am

pconrad wrote:When I change the syslog_text_color to anything other than "", the associated background color goes away.
This is not too big an issue until I use a darker color for the background. Black doesn't show up too well on blue.
Did anyone ever find a fix for this ?

Thanks
Cacti Version 0.8.8b
Cacti OS Ubuntu LTS
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.7
Poller Information
Type SPINE 0.8.8b

zarahel
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:49 pm

#290 Post by zarahel » Mon Aug 04, 2008 5:41 am

I´m trying to export my syslog entries to an file, with the output to file option. But everytime I click on it, I always get the same error:

Internet explorer tries to export/transfer syslog.php (instead of a .txt), and it says it isn´t able to find syslog.php.

Does anybody know how to fix this?

Any help is apreciated

Thkx

sterpstra
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:48 pm
Location: So Cal
Contact:

SQL Latency

#291 Post by sterpstra » Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:30 pm

Hi.. I've moved my Syslog server to a seperate Debian system with 3GB RAM and 2 CPU's. When I select a host to view the records of, 1 of the CPU's spikes but the memory stays about 650MB. IT takes about 2 minutes to return 300k records. Total size of DB is about 8Mil records.

Help!!! 2 minutes for a simple query is a bummer

-st

marekmust
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 1:34 am
Contact:

#292 Post by marekmust » Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:52 am

zarahel wrote:I´m trying to export my syslog entries to an file, with the output to file option. But everytime I click on it, I always get the same error:

Internet explorer tries to export/transfer syslog.php (instead of a .txt), and it says it isn´t able to find syslog.php.

Does anybody know how to fix this?

Any help is apreciated

Thkx
sadly i have same problem. It will do the export(cacti), but in the end it will be in *.php and i have syslog.php file, but its empty, like the query hangs in the middle of action.
Itryd reducing the query to minimal, but the error remains.

using firefox(3.5).


i was wondering, is there any other way to export the syslog data to file?

Inserting a query to mysql, would that help?


Any help would be great.

tehbagel
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:39 pm

#293 Post by tehbagel » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:02 pm

Hey guys,

I have the syslog plugin all set up and it's working perfectly, except that I have IP addresses for "host". I'd like to see the plugin resolve these IP's to their applicable hostnames (for ease of reading, as well as convenience), and was wondering if there was a way to do this?

I have my DNS server in the mail/dns settings, still no joy.

Post Reply