Syslog 1.0 Released

Announcements concerning Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
kevin_taco
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#121 Post by kevin_taco » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:01 am

That worked! Thanks for your help.

kevin_taco
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#122 Post by kevin_taco » Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:46 am

After further review it fixed the strange multiple values in the drop down but there's a problem when I select logs with a specific Priority. When I do so the result doesn't display correct logs; the priority isn't correct. Here are the screens:
Attachments
ss2.png
ss2.png (34.71 KiB) Viewed 6876 times
ss1.png
ss1.png (29.72 KiB) Viewed 6876 times

kevin_taco
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#123 Post by kevin_taco » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:34 am

In line 349 of syslog.php I changed

"priority_id <="

to

"priority_id="

And it seems to have fixed this problem somewhat. The Critical and Alert priority displays are reversed when selecting them...

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#124 Post by TheWitness » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:38 am

It's that way for a reason. I can add more options though... ++ means >=

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

kevin_taco
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#125 Post by kevin_taco » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:46 am

In lines 575 and 576 in syslog.php

I changed:


<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>

to:

<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>

And now I think I'm good.

kevin_taco
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#126 Post by kevin_taco » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:50 am

Ok. Sorry for the mixup. This was the functionality I was used to on a previous version of this plugin. Sorry if I'm posting the wrong changes.

kevin_taco
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#127 Post by kevin_taco » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:56 am

In the original code its set to:

priority_id <=

not

priority_id >=

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#128 Post by TheWitness » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:00 pm

kevin_taco wrote:In lines 575 and 576 in syslog.php

I changed:


<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>

to:

<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>

And now I think I'm good.
Thanks for the catch! Can you log a bug here: http://bugs.cacti.net?

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

kevin_taco
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#129 Post by kevin_taco » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:11 pm

Done. Bug # 0001871

giokob
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#130 Post by giokob » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:19 pm

access control for syslog plugin, in my case i log all network devices and servers log to cacti machine, one of our programmer needs to see apache error log for specific server, but i don't want him to see all my infrastructure.

it will be great to somehow limit individual user, that i could filter who sees what device and not all logs from that device but only part of it

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#131 Post by TheWitness » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:52 pm

giokob wrote:access control for syslog plugin, in my case i log all network devices and servers log to cacti machine, one of our programmer needs to see apache error log for specific server, but i don't want him to see all my infrastructure.

it will be great to somehow limit individual user, that i could filter who sees what device and not all logs from that device but only part of it
Can you be more specific? It is possible to do the following:

1) Limit access by host or list of host
2) Limit access by Facility
3) Restrict access based upon substring match of log entries

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

giokob
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:22 am

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#132 Post by giokob » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:15 am

i think all of three is good, better if administrator can create sql expression, like in alarm, remove rules

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#133 Post by TheWitness » Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:57 am

Please log a bug here http://bugs.cacti.net and attach not only my comments but yours.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

philipz
Cacti User
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:46 am

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#134 Post by philipz » Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:19 am

Is it intentional that the search field does not search the host field? I would like to filter on a per site basis, so it would be nice if searching for "London" would give me "London-sw1" "London-sw2" and so on.

Also, according to the change log:
When adding a removal rule, only that rule will execute immediately, instead of rerunning all rules
When adding a rule it will work, but it does not remove existing entries from the database?

Thanks for another very cool plugin!

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Syslog 1.0 Released

#135 Post by TheWitness » Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:25 pm

philipz wrote:Is it intentional that the search field does not search the host field? I would like to filter on a per site basis, so it would be nice if searching for "London" would give me "London-sw1" "London-sw2" and so on.

Also, according to the change log:
When adding a removal rule, only that rule will execute immediately, instead of rerunning all rules
When adding a rule it will work, but it does not remove existing entries from the database?

Thanks for another very cool plugin!
Post your feature request and bug on Mantis http://bugs.cacti.net

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

Post Reply