Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 527 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 ... 36  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:50 am
Posts: 2
Hey everyone,
I'm having some trouble getting this graph to work. I'm running Cacti 0.8.7g on a W2K server using IIS. I have attached copies of the readout from putting the graph and data source into debug mode. To be honest it all looks like Greek to me. I have noticed that the C:/Inetpub/Cacti/rra/clem-k-poc01_min_1851.rrd file does not exist. I have other graphs that are working fine so there shouldn't be a problem with creating .rrd files in general. I have looked in the Cacti Log File but it is huge and I may be missing something. Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Attachments:
Graph Debug.txt [2.61 KiB]
Downloaded 244 times
Data Source Debug.txt [662 Bytes]
Downloaded 211 times

_________________
- Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:06 am
Posts: 4
The template works fine for me.
But i have a little problem.
The png shows the statistics but when i click on it to see the details (Hourly,Daily,etc) it doesn't shows any graph.
It seems like it does not generate them.
Does anyone know how to fix that?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 10
Working here. Have you check if not a general cacti problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 7:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:50 am
Posts: 2
I rebuilt the poller chache and everything is working great now! :D

_________________
- Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:27 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
yreddy wrote:
Hi,

I've made an alternate version of the Advanced Ping template with the following changes:
- y axis displays seconds instead of milliseconds
- Packet loss displayed as a normal line and not a full vertical bar (except for 100% packet loss)

You sure the packet loss works properly with your version? For example in this attached file, it was down in the gap yet nothing to visually indicate the loss.
Attachment:
cacti_advancedping_alt.png
cacti_advancedping_alt.png [ 16.77 KiB | Viewed 6177 times ]

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:42 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
Followup.

Even the latest version found buried in this thread (not the yreddy modified one), doesn't display red vertical bars when there is complete ping failure.
Attachment:
advancedping_failure_gaps.png
advancedping_failure_gaps.png [ 39.37 KiB | Viewed 6031 times ]


Who wants to fix it?

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:33 pm
Posts: 10
Look my previous post:

EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6g

BSOD2600 wrote:
Followup.

Even the latest version found buried in this thread (not the yreddy modified one), doesn't display red vertical bars when there is complete ping failure.
Attachment:
advancedping_failure_gaps.png


Who wants to fix it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 7:33 am
Posts: 43
Location: Canada
Hi,

I don't have time to work on it right now but I will get to it...

However, I think the issue might be related with the "Downed Device Detection" feature of Cacti. If Cacti detects the device is down, it may decide to stop polling (including the polls related with advanced ping). I would suggest you to try the following workaround:
1) Deactivate the "Downed Device Detection" of the specific host (setting it to "None")
2) OR (to troubleshoot only) - deactivate icmp response on a specific host by using a firewall or other means. This would permit to isolate the behaviour of specific advanced ping graph and then see if it will reports red bars instead of gaps...

cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:02 pm
Posts: 38
I've been doing a lot of digging on this one but now have graphs that work nicely! :D

1) Fixed it so the line isn't always green when packet loss isn't 0%
2) Shows a block of colour when the host is down. This isn't happening because when the host is detected as down it isn't polled, as yreddy suspected. Not good to just turn host down detection off as it stops things like the monitor plugin working. When not polling Nan is returned, so I have created a CDEF that will convert this to a number, to then be graphed :)

What is the best way I share this? On here, then yreddy can update his template on the wiki? Step by step what I did in the interface AND/OR the new template?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:58 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
shelluk: Export the template with all dependencies and upload it. yreddy can fix the first post of this thread with the latest package.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:52 am
Posts: 2
Hi

hopefully could anyone (TheWitness?) look into my post as i can't send PM's http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=45951&p=223827#p223827

is regarding ss_fping.php on a synology nas.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:42 am
Posts: 20
Hello.

I am running Cacti 0.8.7i and have a problem running the Advanced Ping script.
I have imported the template (v2.2) from this post but have not changed the cacti_dir/lib/ss_fping.php file since I figured the one included in the distribution would be the latest version.
Is this indeed the case or I have to download the one posted here?

In any case I have created a test device to try the ping script. Judging from the logs the script seems to get executed correctly but the rrd file does not seem to get updated.
The graph is empty and a part of the logs can be seen below:

01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: C:/wamp/bin/php/php5.3.8/php.exe, ARGS: -q "c:/wamp/www/reaction-nms/cmd.php" 0 2]
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: SERVER: cmd
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: GETCWD: c:/wamp/www/reaction-nms
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: DIRNAM: c:/wamp/www/reaction-nms
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: FILENM: C:\wamp\www\reaction-nms\script_server.php
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] PHP Script Server has Started - Parent is cmd
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] PHP Script Server Started Properly
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] PING: TCP Ping Success (0.63 ms)
01/03/2012 02:20:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: PID[3236] CTR[0] INC: 'ss_fping.php' FUNC: 'ss_fping' PARMS: '209.85.229.105 5 ICMP'
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: PID[3236] CTR[0] RESPONSE:'min:74.0000 avg:75.0000 max:76.0000 dev:0.6325 loss:0.0000'
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[16] SERVER: C:/wamp/www/reaction-nms/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 209.85.229.105 5 ICMP , output: min:74.0000 avg:75.0000 max:76.0000 dev:0.6325 loss:0.0000
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: PHP Script Server Shutdown request received, exiting
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field 'min:74.0000' [map min->min]
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field 'avg:75.0000' [map avg->avg]
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field 'max:76.0000' [map max->max]
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field 'dev:0.6325' [map dev->dev]
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field 'loss:0.0000' [map loss->loss]
01/03/2012 02:20:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: c:/rrdtool/rrdtool.exe update C:\wamp\www\reaction-nms\rra\google_loss_16.rrd --template min:avg:max:dev:loss 1325593202:74.0000:75.0000:76.0000:0.6325:0.0000

Can you find any error in the logs explaining why the graph is empty or is there another reason for that?
The installation is on Win7, the acc running the poller has administrative rights and has access to the db and the rrd file.

Thanks in advance.
George


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:42 am
Posts: 20
After a couple of days I have revisited my problem and everything seemed to work fine - the graph was getting updated without any problem.
I created another graph for a different IP just to make sure that all is OK. The graph did not get updated even though the same entries were being printed in the log file.
I get the impression that this graph might also get updated after a restart of my PC (I restarted apache and mysql but that did not solve the problem).
Has anyone else encountered this behavior before?

Thanks.
George


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:47 pm
Posts: 1
Packet loss is being returned and I'm unable to reproduce packet loss outside of Cacti. Has anyone else seen this or can offer suggestions on troubleshooting?

Cacti.log
CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[15] DS[92] SERVER: E:/inetpub/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 10.1.10.2 20 ICMP , output: min:13.0000 avg:14.0526 max:19.0000 dev:1.2762 loss:5.0000

Quote:
Cacti Version - 0.8.7i
Plugin Architecture - 3.1
Poller Type - CMD.php
Server Info - Windows NT 6.1
Web Server - Microsoft-IIS/7.5
PHP - 5.2.14


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:59 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:04 am
Posts: 1566
Location: Japan
send2brian wrote:
CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[15] DS[92] SERVER: E:/inetpub/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 10.1.10.2 20 ICMP , output: min:13.0000 avg:14.0526 max:19.0000 dev:1.2762 loss:5.0000

5% loss = 1 failed in 20 tries
Is that a severe situation?

Default timeout value on Cacti (400ms) is shorter than Windows ping.exe (4000ms?).
If you worry about packet loss, increase the timeout.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 527 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 ... 36  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group