MacTrack ignoring voice ports

Support questions about the MAC Track plugin

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
socain
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 8:49 am
Location: Florida, USA

MacTrack ignoring voice ports

#1 Post by socain » Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:11 am

When we enable the voice vlan feature to support phones on the ports, on HP switches, MacTrack thinks they are trunk ports and ignores them all. How can we get MacTrack to not ignore trunk ports? I can then just use the ignore interface option to ignore the true trunks.

jab50
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:46 am

Re: MacTrack ignoring voice ports

#2 Post by jab50 » Mon Sep 07, 2015 8:00 am

A bit of a late reply but I have just been going through the same process of adding voice vlans to our HP switches, and no solution was posted here.

Here is what I did, which is a bit of a fudge:-
Duplicate the mactrack_hp_ngi.php to a new file I have attached mine (rename scanning functions and add the file reference to mactrack_vendors.php, select refresh scanning functions in cacti console)
In the test for trunk ports change the detection from 1 to 2 vlans on the port. mactrack no longer ignores any port with just 2 vlans on it. On ports you realy want to be treated as trunk add a new dummy vlan so the count for those ports is now 3 or greater.

Now create a new device type to use your new scanning function and make sure it is applied to the required switches.

Any thoughts on a more elegant fix?
Attachments
mactrack_hp_ngijb.zip
(2.61 KiB) Downloaded 144 times

socain
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 8:49 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: MacTrack ignoring voice ports

#3 Post by socain » Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:02 am

This worked perfectly. Thank you for your response! Since all of our switches using this function are the same I just edited the file itself.

Post Reply