Windows Installer [Cacti 1.2.5] [Updated 2019-07-18]

Post support questions that relate to the Windows 2003/2000/XP operating systems.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
dalfaroc
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:29 am

Windows Installer [Cacti 0.8.8h] unable to ploth graphs

#856 Post by dalfaroc » Thu Nov 17, 2016 6:01 pm

Hello,

The problem that I am faced is that cacti is unable to plot graphs. I applied the windows installer 0.8.8h in a PC with windows 10 (by upgrading from native w8 to w10).

Apparently mySql, PHP, SNMP are OK, probably the problem is with RRDtool. I do not know if this is a problem of compatibility with this version of window.

Can you help me ?, I attach some traces an logs

C:\apache24\logs\error.log;
C:\Users\All Users\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.6\data\MXL-DALFAROC.err;
C:\apache24\htdocs\cati\log\cacti.log;
Console -_ Utilities -_ Technical Support.pdf;
cacti-installer.log;
Logfile - process monitor.csv;
RRDTool command output.jpg;
snmpwalk and php.jpg;
image.jpg

thanks in advance,
Attachments
cacti 088h - win10.zip
C:\apache24\logs\error.log;
C:\Users\All Users\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.6\data\MXL-DALFAROC.err;
C:\apache24\htdocs\cati\log\cacti.log;
Console -_ Utilities -_ Technical Support.pdf;
cacti-installer.log;
Logfile - process monitor.csv;
RRDTool command output.jpg;
snmpwalk and php.jpg;
image.jpg
(294.21 KiB) Downloaded 102 times

User avatar
smlick
Cacti User
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 4:09 am
Location: Italy, Rome

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 0.8.8h] [Updated 2016-05-09]

#857 Post by smlick » Wed Nov 30, 2016 9:49 am

Hi BSOD2600,
I installed the last package (0.8.8h) on a Windows 2012 R2 64bit machine but I get various error.
The first is error opening file for writing: \cacti\LICENSE
then \cacti\README .........

Any idea?

Regards
Alessio
Cacti Version 0.8.8c production / 0.8.8c test W2008 -- Plugin:Weathermap - Monitor - CAMM 1.6.7 :) - Nectar - GPS Map

User avatar
smlick
Cacti User
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 4:09 am
Location: Italy, Rome

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 0.8.8h] [Updated 2016-05-09]

#858 Post by smlick » Thu Dec 01, 2016 8:52 am

Solved....i checked apache instead of IIS and all works ok.
Cacti Version 0.8.8c production / 0.8.8c test W2008 -- Plugin:Weathermap - Monitor - CAMM 1.6.7 :) - Nectar - GPS Map

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#859 Post by BSOD2600 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:16 am

Installer updated with Cacti 1.0.3.

zetoo
Cacti User
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:42 am

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#860 Post by zetoo » Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:06 am

BSOD2600 wrote:Installer updated with Cacti 1.0.3.
Could I change that apache to IIS 8.5? or it is already included in one package?

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#861 Post by phalek » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:10 am

You can select which Webserver to use during the install process. IIS with FastCGI is supported but must be already installed.
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

talkingtoes
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 11:52 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#862 Post by talkingtoes » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:26 pm

Hello,

I have a Win10 that the Cacti-1.0.3-3.0.0.0 installer at the Components page, is not letting me select any [ ] Plugins (or the top level of Plugins). I cannot expand it with mouse, or keyboard (but can expand / select for both [X] Dependencies and for [X] Optional Templates).

I've been running the same cacti virtual machine for about 8 years, and upgrading Cacti and Ubuntu over the years. I want to try a Windows install for the easier WMI queries.

Thanks!
TalkingToes in Seattle, WA, USA

PS, What suggested installed options would be required for IIS for your installer to run?
Attachments
Cacti Win10 1.0.3-3.0.0.0 installer.GIF
Cacti 1.0.3-3.0.0.0 installer
Cacti Win10 1.0.3-3.0.0.0 installer.GIF (54.06 KiB) Viewed 2320 times

User avatar
Diggit2001
Cacti User
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: MD, US
Contact:

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#863 Post by Diggit2001 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:41 am

Has anyone installed the latest version of the Windows installer yet and got it all working? I just installed it on a fresh PC and I'm having all the same issues that I was having when I upgraded my old Cacti plus a couple others. I was hoping that a nice fresh load would work better. Just wanted to make sure that I didn't screw something up along the way.

Thanks.

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#864 Post by phalek » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:41 am

talkingtoes wrote: I have a Win10 that the Cacti-1.0.3-3.0.0.0 installer at the Components page, is not letting me select any [ ] Plugins (or the top level of Plugins). I cannot expand it with mouse, or keyboard .
That's because most plugins got either integrated into Cacti 1.x or are not yet compatible.
talkingtoes wrote:PS, What suggested installed options would be required for IIS for your installer to run?
IIS + the "CGI" module
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#865 Post by phalek » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:13 pm

Hi

I am able to use the installer to get a fully working Cacti 1.0.3 on a freshly installed Windows 2012 R2 with IIS and FastCGI.

Polling didn't work up until I did set the timezone in php.ini and my.ini to match each other.

Content of my my.init (located at C:\Program Files\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.7\my.ini ):

Code: Select all

[mysqld]
max_heap_table_size=90M
max_allowed_packet=16M
tmp_table_size=64M
join_buffer_size=64M
innodb_file_per_table=ON
innodb_buffer_pool_size=450M
innodb_doublewrite=OFF
innodb_additional_mem_pool_size=80M
innodb_lock_wait_timeout=50
innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit=2
character_set_server=utf8
character_set_client=utf8
collation_server=utf8_general_ci
default-time-zone='Europe/Berlin'
innodb_flush_log_at_timeout=3
innodb_read_io_threads=32
innodb_write_io_threads=16
content of php.ini ( located at c:\php\php.ini ):

Code: Select all

date.timezone="Europe/Berlin"
The default in the php.ini file is current date.timezone="America/Los_Angeles" while mysql is using the local timezone. If these do not match, the rrd files will be created but (depending on your timezone) show up no data.


BSOD2600, maybe an option in the installer asking for the timezone to be used for the my.ini and php.ini files would be solving this issue ?
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#866 Post by BSOD2600 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:33 am

phalek wrote:That's because most plugins got either integrated into Cacti 1.x or are not yet compatible.
Exactly. I'll remove that option on the next build.
phalek wrote:BSOD2600, maybe an option in the installer asking for the timezone to be used for the my.ini and php.ini files would be solving this issue ?
Yea, it's a possibility. The post install instructions to tell the customer they need to get set, which everyone followed... right? ;) Basically trying to have avoid manually coding up two separate lists of time zones...

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#867 Post by phalek » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:20 am

No I didn't read the Post Install document, but having read it now I have to confirm that it doesn't contain any reference to the MySQL Timezone stuff (yet)


BSOD2600, a simple free-form text field pre-filled with your timezone would be just fine. I (hopefully) can find the correct settings myself and change that text-field accordingly. No need for a drop-down list.

So either I change it, or it's at least the same timezone in php and mysql
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

zetoo
Cacti User
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:42 am

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#868 Post by zetoo » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:06 am

I got blank interface with no result return everytime I click the menu on menutab. Did I miss something since I do what post installation guide stated.

Got no error on logs.

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#869 Post by phalek » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:24 am

What exactly do you click where ?
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: Windows Installer [Cacti 1.0.3] [Updated 2017-02-21]

#870 Post by BSOD2600 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:41 am

phalek wrote: but having read it now I have to confirm that it doesn't contain any reference to the MySQL Timezone stuff (yet)
Thats because it should already install it for you ;)

Only php timezone needs to get set.

Post Reply