add more field into device record

Anything that you think should be in Cacti.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Rno
Cacti User
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:19 am

add more field into device record

#1 Post by Rno » Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:16 am

I'd like to use Cacti as inventory for all of my network equipment

Is it possible to include into the 1.2 future version 3 mores field into the device DB
Serial number
type
location

Now i can just add it into the comment part, but it' hard to make a search or a sort based on this text field.

Thanks in advance,
CentOS
Production
Cacti 0.8.8h
Spine 0.8.8h
PIA 3.1
Aggregate 0.75
Monitor 1.3
Settings 0.71
Weathermap 0.98
Thold 0.5
rrdclean 0.41

Own plugin: LinkDiscovery 0.45, Map 0.37

Test
Cacti 1.2.6
Spine 1.2.6
thold 1.0.6
monitor 2.3.5
php 7.2.11
mariadb 5.5.56
Own plugin:
ExtendDB 1.1.2
LinkDiscovery 1.2.6
Map 1.2.6

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2724
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: add more field into device record

#2 Post by phalek » Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:46 am

You can do that via a plugin. In fact my updated Cacti 1.x book does contain a howto for such a plugin ... ( see the Serial Number / Warranty fields in the screenshot )

The Location is already existing in Cacti 1., it's the Device Site Association.
Attachments
3920_09_05.png
3920_09_05.png (29.46 KiB) Viewed 1105 times
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

Rno
Cacti User
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:19 am

Re: add more field into device record

#3 Post by Rno » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:31 am

I know I can do that via plug-in, I have some I developed) but I thinks it can be for general interest
CentOS
Production
Cacti 0.8.8h
Spine 0.8.8h
PIA 3.1
Aggregate 0.75
Monitor 1.3
Settings 0.71
Weathermap 0.98
Thold 0.5
rrdclean 0.41

Own plugin: LinkDiscovery 0.45, Map 0.37

Test
Cacti 1.2.6
Spine 1.2.6
thold 1.0.6
monitor 2.3.5
php 7.2.11
mariadb 5.5.56
Own plugin:
ExtendDB 1.1.2
LinkDiscovery 1.2.6
Map 1.2.6

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: add more field into device record

#4 Post by Osiris » Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:02 pm

Pretty sure I saw something about plans for location, and device types being supported as a function of site tree branches.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 3002
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: add more field into device record

#5 Post by netniV » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:51 am

There is already a device template, which is effectively device type. There is Sites which is the equivalent of Location. There is also snmp_sysLocation which is the location field retrieved via SNMP. I think the only field that isn't currently available is Serial but that shouldn't be too had to add.

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: add more field into device record

#6 Post by Osiris » Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:17 am

The location in 1.2 is like Closet, Rack, Enclosure, etc. Types can be different that Device Templates, but you can name your Device Templates to match type. For example, the Net-SNMP Device Template works pretty good for a DNS or DHCP Server. But those server types might deserve more Templates around the service, so you would duplicate the Net-SNMP, and then make changes from there giving it a new name like DNS Server.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: add more field into device record

#7 Post by Osiris » Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:19 am

Adding Warranty and Serial number might not be a bad thing. The notes field was added ages ago for such data I think. Plugins work great in either case.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

Post Reply