Gradient Graphs for Cacti

Addons for Cacti and discussion about those addons

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
kinghaye
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:15 pm

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#16 Post by kinghaye » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:07 pm

Greetings everyone am new to this Cacti software so forgive me for asking dumb question but when i log in through SSH and browse to nano /path/to/cacti/lib/rrd.php the file is blank. should i just add the code or the graph template ?

kinghaye
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:15 pm

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#17 Post by kinghaye » Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:17 am

How can download and install the rrd.php file in the correct directory since mine is blank.

kinghaye
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:15 pm

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#18 Post by kinghaye » Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:03 am

found the location of the file however when i apply the code all my graphs are gone. any idea what might cause that?
/usr/share/cacti/site/lib

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#19 Post by phalek » Fri Jan 08, 2016 4:54 am

What Cacti version are you using ?
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

kinghaye
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:15 pm

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#20 Post by kinghaye » Sat Jan 16, 2016 3:48 pm

Cacti Version 0.8.8b

nsait
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 6:27 am

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#21 Post by nsait » Tue Nov 22, 2016 6:55 am

Hello
How to make that color grading was only in the area, and did not fill line?
Attachments
cacti_online.jpeg
cacti_online.jpeg (218.66 KiB) Viewed 3127 times

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#22 Post by Osiris » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:48 pm

Someone should do a pull request against the Github release for this.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

ericgarnel
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:44 pm

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#23 Post by ericgarnel » Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:32 pm

I just backed up the original rrd.php and dropped this in place. All my graphs look sexy now! Nice add on

pianograndpulp
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:31 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#24 Post by pianograndpulp » Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:44 am

Dragging this back to the top to see if this might be updated to work with the new 1.x version? :) Very cool...

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#25 Post by phalek » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:18 am

Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

pianograndpulp
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:31 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#26 Post by pianograndpulp » Fri Oct 13, 2017 2:15 am

Thank you!! Love it!! Did forget about the fact that transparency goes away - but I'll adjust my graphs to make those work. Thank you so much!!
phalek wrote:Updated for Cacti 1.x.x : https://www.urban-software.com/2015/06/ ... ti-graphs/

Also created a pull request: https://github.com/Cacti/cacti/pull/1029
Attachments
graph_image.png
Graph showing gradient...
graph_image.png (60.51 KiB) Viewed 1270 times

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#27 Post by phalek » Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:13 am

You can change this line:

Code: Select all

// We don't use alpha blending for the area right now
$alpha = 'ff';

to this, to get transparency working ( it may look ugly though ... ? there was a reason why i disabled this ... )

Code: Select all

// We don't use alpha blending for the area right now
//$alpha = 'ff';
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

pianograndpulp
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:31 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#28 Post by pianograndpulp » Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:28 am

Was also just checking out an odd behavior with the autoscaling of using the Area graph item type. With the gradient applied, the "auto scale options" don't seem to be working.

Using Area:
cacti_1401 (1).png
Using Area
cacti_1401 (1).png (26.99 KiB) Viewed 1264 times
Using Lines:
cacti_1401 (2).png
Using Lines
cacti_1401 (2).png (27.15 KiB) Viewed 1264 times
Using Area (without gradient patch)
cacti_1401 (3).png
Without Gadient
cacti_1401 (3).png (29.3 KiB) Viewed 1264 times
Just curious if it's a bug or just the nature of getting the gradients to work...

Thanks!

_dave

pianograndpulp
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:31 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Gradient Graphs for Cacti

#29 Post by pianograndpulp » Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:34 am

Ha! Yeah - now I can see what transparency isn't a real good option here... At least with the type of graph I'm using... Even with everything at 10% it's still very hard to see...
cacti_1401 (4).png
Transparency
cacti_1401 (4).png (33.74 KiB) Viewed 1264 times
Thanks for the details though - still may be able to design the graph in a way to make it work!!

_dave

phalek wrote:You can change this line:

Code: Select all

// We don't use alpha blending for the area right now
$alpha = 'ff';

to this, to get transparency working ( it may look ugly though ... ? there was a reason why i disabled this ... )

Code: Select all

// We don't use alpha blending for the area right now
//$alpha = 'ff';

Post Reply