Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: add more field into device record
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:16 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:19 am
Posts: 279
I'd like to use Cacti as inventory for all of my network equipment

Is it possible to include into the 1.2 future version 3 mores field into the device DB
Serial number
type
location

Now i can just add it into the comment part, but it' hard to make a search or a sort based on this text field.

Thanks in advance,

_________________
CentOS
Production
Cacti 0.8.8h
Spine 0.8.8h
PIA 3.1
Aggregate 0.75
Monitor 1.3
Settings 0.71
Weathermap 0.98
Thold 0.5
rrdclean 0.41

Own plugin: LinkDiscovery 0.3, Map 0.4

Test
Cacti 1.2
Spine 1.2
thold 1.0.5
monitor 2.3.4
php 5.6.31
mariadb 5.5.56
Own plugin:
ExtendDB 1.1.2
LinkDiscovery 1.2.3
Map 1.2.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: add more field into device record
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 4:46 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Posts: 2684
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
You can do that via a plugin. In fact my updated Cacti 1.x book does contain a howto for such a plugin ... ( see the Serial Number / Warranty fields in the screenshot )

The Location is already existing in Cacti 1., it's the Device Site Association.


Attachments:
3920_09_05.png
3920_09_05.png [ 29.46 KiB | Viewed 449 times ]

_________________
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code:
CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: add more field into device record
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:31 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:19 am
Posts: 279
I know I can do that via plug-in, I have some I developed) but I thinks it can be for general interest

_________________
CentOS
Production
Cacti 0.8.8h
Spine 0.8.8h
PIA 3.1
Aggregate 0.75
Monitor 1.3
Settings 0.71
Weathermap 0.98
Thold 0.5
rrdclean 0.41

Own plugin: LinkDiscovery 0.3, Map 0.4

Test
Cacti 1.2
Spine 1.2
thold 1.0.5
monitor 2.3.4
php 5.6.31
mariadb 5.5.56
Own plugin:
ExtendDB 1.1.2
LinkDiscovery 1.2.3
Map 1.2.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: add more field into device record
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:02 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 583
Pretty sure I saw something about plans for location, and device types being supported as a function of site tree branches.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: add more field into device record
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:51 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 1332
There is already a device template, which is effectively device type. There is Sites which is the equivalent of Location. There is also snmp_sysLocation which is the location field retrieved via SNMP. I think the only field that isn't currently available is Serial but that shouldn't be too had to add.

_________________
Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website
Cacti Issues
Cacti Releases

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: add more field into device record
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:17 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 583
The location in 1.2 is like Closet, Rack, Enclosure, etc. Types can be different that Device Templates, but you can name your Device Templates to match type. For example, the Net-SNMP Device Template works pretty good for a DNS or DHCP Server. But those server types might deserve more Templates around the service, so you would duplicate the Net-SNMP, and then make changes from there giving it a new name like DNS Server.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: add more field into device record
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:19 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 583
Adding Warranty and Serial number might not be a bad thing. The notes field was added ages ago for such data I think. Plugins work great in either case.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group