i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool graph

Post general support questions here that do not specifically fall into the Linux or Windows categories.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
vignesh
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:25 pm

i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool graph

#1 Post by vignesh » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:40 pm

Hi, everybody...

i know to basic things in cacti how they get information and where its has store information.. All client device data’s has been stored in rrd folder and .rrd file format...i want make graph using rrdtool graph command.. please tell me how get information from rrd file and how make graph..

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2910
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#2 Post by netniV » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:45 pm

If you already a graph in cacti, you can use the graph debug options to see what command is used by cacti when it generates a graph.

vignesh
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#3 Post by vignesh » Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:00 pm

Thank you so much for your instant reply.. now i can see graph on debug mode..one doubt suppose i want do select to particular time period in debug mode.. can you tell me how to do that? and i did copied that debug full statement and paste command terminal instead of graph its showing non human readable message..

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2910
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#4 Post by netniV » Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:54 am

I think if you look carefully, you will see from and to values that are in timestamp format.

vignesh
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#5 Post by vignesh » Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:53 am

ya i got timestamp... we are ISP providers, we want attache cacti graphs in our billing servers.. so, is there any option fetch the graph value from cacti MySQL database, or at least maximum values enough for us... kindly give some suggestions, suppose if i used rrdtool graph command for fetching graph, its create one png file.we don't want store or generate any graph image file..

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2910
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#6 Post by netniV » Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:46 am

I have worked with a data centre who used Cacti 1.x and the GExport plugin (0.8.8 apparently had that integrated) to export graphs and use those on their customer portal. It meant no direct interaction from the portal to the cacti system. They run that export every 5-15 minutes so it's fairly up to date.

At the same time, I have written a THoldLists plugin that they used to create THold notification lists containing their customer emails and the graph id's they want the list applying to, so they also have email notifications going to their customers for breaches on thresholds.

So, you could look at the gexport plugin to see how it does these directly but I would recommend using the export features because it will ultimately put less strain on your server when the clients are just pulling static images when browsing and less wait time for the client.

vignesh
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#7 Post by vignesh » Sat Mar 17, 2018 7:29 am

Hi,

i tried to install both plugins gexport and THoldLists plugin. I am getting the below error, while installing plugins from plugin management.

Validation error for variable id with a value of plugin_tholdlists-release-1.0.0. See backtrace below for more details.
(/plugins.php: 51 get_filter_request_var)(/lib/html_utility.php: 433 die_html_input_error)(/lib/html_validate.php: 60 cacti_debug_backtrace)


Validation error for variable id with a value of plugin_gexport. See backtrace below for more details.
(/plugins.php: 51 get_filter_request_var)(/lib/html_utility.php: 433 die_html_input_error)(/lib/html_validate.php: 60 cacti_debug_backtrace)

please help me fix this issue..


vignesh
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#9 Post by vignesh » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:17 am

i am using cacti version
Version 1.1.16

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2910
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#10 Post by netniV » Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:45 am

There have been changes to the plugin code certainly in the last release or two. Are you able to update to that?

vignesh
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#11 Post by vignesh » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:10 am

you want do update cacti or cacti plugins? cacti plugins all download from cacti website only.. but that also not support properly..

one more question i want ask.. Is there any specific command for fetch value from rrd file.. If we can got the values from rrd file, we will make own graphs with our customise features...

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2910
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#12 Post by netniV » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:09 am

You can see how any graph is created by using the Graph Debug options. Edit a graph and then click Turn On Graph Debug Mode.

vignesh
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:25 pm

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#13 Post by vignesh » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:35 am

i do convert rrd to xml or using rrdtool fetch command , i am getting some values like this 4.1841727982e+00..
can you explain how to read and understand values..

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2910
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: i want make graph from cacti rrd file using rrdtool grap

#14 Post by netniV » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:37 am

Check out the documentation website. I think there is also a post on here somewhere about the values within an RRD file if you search which explains how they are defined.

Post Reply