W32 IIS W3SVC Perl Script via check_nt

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
africanw
Cacti User
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Sydney, Asutralia
Contact:

W32 IIS W3SVC Perl Script via check_nt

#1 Post by africanw » Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:22 am

This is based on the scripts that DevilSun made. Instead of using WMI it uses the nagios client. So this version will work on linux.

Normal install of import the two xml files and put the perl script in the cacti scripts directory.

This has been tested running cacti on Fedora Core 3 and polling a Windows 2003 server.
Attachments
graph_image.php.png
graph_image.php.png (5.4 KiB) Viewed 29354 times
IIS - WWW Connections NSCLIENT.zip
(4.7 KiB) Downloaded 2462 times

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

question about wmi?

#2 Post by Luis Gardea » Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:13 am

Hello again.

I want install your script for winnt, but I don't know how configure the wmi. I download in this link

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... f236e0e875

Can you help me, please?

:cry:

africanw
Cacti User
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Sydney, Asutralia
Contact:

#3 Post by africanw » Fri Apr 22, 2005 12:18 pm

My script does not use WMI. It use's the nagios client.

For the WMI one look here --

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t ... hlight=wmi

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

Re: W32 IIS W3SVC Perl Script via check_nt

#4 Post by Luis Gardea » Wed May 04, 2005 11:02 am

Hi

I have fc3 and cacti.0.8.6d, both work fine.

My question is how can I use WMI and nagios client to graph windows NT, XP and 2k3 servers?

sorry buy I am new in that and I don't know what is WMI and nagios client

Can you help me?

Best regards

africanw
Cacti User
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Sydney, Asutralia
Contact:

#5 Post by africanw » Wed May 04, 2005 12:41 pm

If you running cacti on FC3 then you can't use WMI. Thats why I used the NS client.

http://nsclient.ready2run.nl/

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

#6 Post by Luis Gardea » Wed May 04, 2005 2:04 pm

Hi again


The NS client I must install in my cacti server (FC3) or in my others servers (windows NT,XP,2k3)

:oops:

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

#7 Post by Luis Gardea » Wed May 04, 2005 2:39 pm

Upss!!!

Sorry I just read the documentation of NS client I know now that it must be install in my windows server.

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

#8 Post by Luis Gardea » Wed May 04, 2005 3:11 pm

Ok I just install NS client on my windows NT server. But I still see "snmp error" on cacti.

I've installed the service snmp and put my community name RO

Can you tell me what happend?

africanw
Cacti User
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Sydney, Asutralia
Contact:

#9 Post by africanw » Thu May 05, 2005 7:13 am

Nsclient does not use snmp. Its basically a interface between Linux and the Windows performance counters.

If you want to use snmp then use snmp.

To use nsclient you will also need check_nt on your linux box. Is in the UnixSource folder (the one you downloaded).

Once you have compiled check_nt you can run it from the command line to make sure it works and can talk to your windows box.

If you still have problems post the errors you are getting.

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

#10 Post by Luis Gardea » Thu May 05, 2005 12:03 pm

Ho!!! thanks for yours advices. I really appreciate that.

Where I can acquire the check_nt. I've been looking in Internet but I only found something about nagios.

How I can do to check_nt running in FC3?

thank you for you help.




:x

User avatar
fmangeant
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2326
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Contact:

#11 Post by fmangeant » Fri May 06, 2005 3:10 am

Luis Gardea wrote:Where I can acquire the check_nt. I've been looking in Internet but I only found something about nagios.
Hi

you can find it here : http://www.nagiosexchange.org/Windows.4 ... p_view]=65

The .zip file contains a Linux binary.
[size=84]
[color=green]HOWTOs[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15353]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Unix[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=26151]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=28175]Graph multiple servers using an SNMP proxy[/url][/list]
[color=green]Templates[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15412]Multiple CPU usage for Linux[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=125152]Memory & swap usage for Unix[/url][/list][/size]

Luis Gardea
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:20 pm

#12 Post by Luis Gardea » Fri May 06, 2005 2:39 pm

Then before to install check_nt on FC3. Must do I install nagios?

sorry for make a lot questions.


:-?

User avatar
fmangeant
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2326
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Contact:

#13 Post by fmangeant » Mon May 09, 2005 3:25 am

Luis Gardea wrote:Then before to install check_nt on FC3. Must do I install nagios?
Here's my setup :
NT boxes -> Cacti server
NRPE -> check_nrpe
NSClient -> check_nt

check_nt is available here : http://www.nagiosexchange.org/Windows.4 ... p_view]=65, and check_nrpe is available here : http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/nagi ... z?download
[size=84]
[color=green]HOWTOs[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15353]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Unix[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=26151]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=28175]Graph multiple servers using an SNMP proxy[/url][/list]
[color=green]Templates[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15412]Multiple CPU usage for Linux[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=125152]Memory & swap usage for Unix[/url][/list][/size]

Alives
Cacti User
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:39 am

#14 Post by Alives » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:50 am

How do you specify the web service in cacti? Or do you just specify it in the perl script? I'd like to be able to monitor many sites on the same server without making custom perl scripts for each site if possible.

jafflen
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:19 am

Re: W32 IIS W3SVC Perl Script via check_nt

#15 Post by jafflen » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:25 am

Hi)) what the difference between transferring script files to your Web server and transferring your Web page files there??can't manage to do it :(

Post Reply