Cisco Environmental Monitoring (Temp, Voltage, Fan, Power)

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Cisco Environmental Monitoring (Temp, Voltage, Fan, Power)

#1 Post by gandalf » Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:45 am

Attached, please find Cisco Environmental Monitoring Graph Templates. They include a Data Query, a Data Template and a Graph Template. The MIB description is nor related to a specific router device. We run them for 36xx and 7206 with success.

ATTENTION: as always, RRA Definitions are included (cause "include dependencies" was checked). My RRAs only contain AVERAGE and MAX consolidation functions. THEY WILL OVERRIDE YOUR SETTINGS. So please check them before importing and reset to your previous settings, if modified.

The resources are packed into two zips, one for Temperature and one for Voltage. Both include a Graph Template and the according Data Query. Import them both and you're done.
Exporting was performed on cacti 0.8.6c. You'll need that version at minimum.
Please notice the snmp query XMLs at the bottom of this page.

Reinhard
-----------
Edit: BSOD2600

The Cisco EnvMon v2.zip is the updated templates/scripts. Exported with Cacti 0.8.7d. Details of the updates found here.
Attachments
Cisco EnvMon v2.zip
Updated Cisco - EnvMon templates/scripts
(16.67 KiB) Downloaded 10658 times
cisco_envmon_temperature.zip
Temperature
(5.52 KiB) Downloaded 15775 times
cisco_envmon_voltage.zip
Voltage
(6.46 KiB) Downloaded 10377 times
Last edited by gandalf on Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#2 Post by gandalf » Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:46 am

And here are the pictures
Attachments
Cisco_Temp.png
Temperature
Cisco_Temp.png (12.7 KiB) Viewed 117891 times
Cisco_Voltage.png
Voltage (only 2 of 4 readings)
Cisco_Voltage.png (12.86 KiB) Viewed 117891 times

ioiioi
Cacti User
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:57 am

#3 Post by ioiioi » Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:06 pm

good, I love this one.
any possible integrate with cpu and mem utilization?
I am confuse with mem utilization about cisco router.

fjack
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 10:18 am
Location: Geneva, SWITZERLAND

#4 Post by fjack » Mon Nov 21, 2005 1:53 pm

Thank you, it looks great !

Can you also post the xml files to put into snmp_queries folder ?
I can't make it work without it :oops:

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#5 Post by gandalf » Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:45 am

ioiioi wrote:good, I love this one.
any possible integrate with cpu and mem utilization?
I am confuse with mem utilization about cisco router.
Of course, this should be done. CPU and Mem utilization were alraedy posted on the forum, so you should have them already. Perhaps you have a "Cisco Router" Host Template (if not, you should define one). Simply add those two new graphs to that Host Template and you're done.
I did NOT export a Host Template as I did not want to scramble your existing Definitions (e.g. my "Cisco Host Template" would include Traffic Stats with my local definitions. But I do not want to override your Traffic Stats Graph with mine).
The docs at cacti.net describe how to work on Host Templates
Reinhard

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#6 Post by gandalf » Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:49 am

fjack wrote:Thank you, it looks great !

Can you also post the xml files to put into snmp_queries folder ?
I can't make it work without it :oops:
Hmm, that worries me. I did export the Data Queries as well. The zip files should contain a Data Query XML file and a Graph/Data/...Template XML file. Importing the Data Query XML file should generate that what you missed. Please try importing the Data Query XML and post you findings.
To be honest, that's the first time I did an export of a Data Query XML this way, so I'm not sure about this.
Reinhard

Xarion
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:04 am

help :|

#7 Post by Xarion » Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:52 am

what values do i use for

Index Type
Index Value
Output Type ID

Thanx :)

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

Re: help :|

#8 Post by gandalf » Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:06 pm

Xarion wrote:what values do i use for

Index Type
Index Value
Output Type ID

Thanx :)
You should not have to answer this.
This may occur, when you generate this Graph from the Associated Graph Templates of a Device. That's not recommended (and I forgot to point this out). You should add the Data Queries to the Associated Data Queries as shown in the attached screenshot
Reinhard
Attachments
AssocDataQuery.png
How to associated the Data Query to a Device
AssocDataQuery.png (8.83 KiB) Viewed 117747 times

mjc
Cacti User
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 7:26 pm

#9 Post by mjc » Tue Nov 22, 2005 8:50 pm

ioiioi wrote:good, I love this one.
any possible integrate with cpu and mem utilization?
I am confuse with mem utilization about cisco router.

integrating them together is not the smartest way of monitoring them. the router does not aggregate them together when it uses them, so why aggregate them together on a graph???

consider them two seperate memory heaps.

i have just publsihed a template for this very thing

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=10540

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=10541

Xarion
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:04 am

whoops

#10 Post by Xarion » Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:52 am

After all that i dont think my router has this function :( its and ADSL router 800series. Oh well it was worth the try :)

Temp (Verbose Query) Uptime Goes Backwards Success [0 Items, 0 Rows]

Thanx again

ioiioi
Cacti User
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:57 am

#11 Post by ioiioi » Wed Nov 23, 2005 11:49 am

mjc wrote: integrating them together is not the smartest way of monitoring them. the router does not aggregate them together when it uses them, so why aggregate them together on a graph???

consider them two seperate memory heaps.

i have just publsihed a template for this very thing

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=10540

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=10541
mjc did the great job.
thanks very much!

byronm
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:58 am

#12 Post by byronm » Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:15 am

fjack wrote:Thank you, it looks great !

Can you also post the xml files to put into snmp_queries folder ?
I can't make it work without it :oops:
I'm having the same problem... It seems to import fine, and creates the data query in cacti, but it won't construct the <path_cacti>/resource/snmp_queries/cisco_envmon_temp.xml file (I haven't tried the voltage one). In the Cisco EnvMon Temperature data query window, there's a big "Could not locate XML file." It's not in the directory either (yes, I checked :) ) This is on Fedora 4. I just installed Cacti, but I've been importing stuff all day, before and after this one. It is the only one to fail as of yet... Can someone who has it working, or perhaps lvm, please upload a copy of that file? And probably the one for voltage too, since this has happened to myself and fjack, someone else probably wants it too ;)
Thanks,
Byron

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#13 Post by gandalf » Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:58 pm

Sorry for that. But I'm at home now. Please try to first import the Data Query XML Template, then the Graph Template.
But as soon as possible, I'll provide the source XML here.
Reinhard

byronm
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:58 am

#14 Post by byronm » Thu Dec 01, 2005 7:14 pm

lvm wrote:Please try to first import the Data Query XML Template, then the Graph Template.
Thanks for the reply,
Ok, I deleted all the traces of it from cacti, redownloaded the .zip and then installed it in the order you specified. After the Data query xml, I get...
Cacti wrote: Cacti has imported the following items:

Round Robin Archive

[success] Daily (5 Minute Average) [update]
[success] Weekly (30 Minute Average) [update]
[success] Monthly (2 Hour Average) [update]
[success] Yearly (1 Day Average) [update]

GPRINT Preset

[success] Normal [update]

Data Input Method

[success] Get SNMP Data (Indexed) [update]

Data Template

[success] Cisco EnvMon Temperature [new]

Graph Template

[success] Cisco EnvMon Temperature [new]

Data Query

[success] Cisco EnvMon Temperature [new]
Now at this point, I would expect the snmp_queries .xml to have been generated, but it was not. Then I imported the Graph Template and got...
Cacti wrote: Cacti has imported the following items:

Round Robin Archive

[success] Daily (5 Minute Average) [update]
[success] Weekly (30 Minute Average) [update]
[success] Monthly (2 Hour Average) [update]
[success] Yearly (1 Day Average) [update]

GPRINT Preset

[success] Normal [update]

Data Input Method

[success] Get SNMP Data (Indexed) [update]

Data Template

[success] Cisco EnvMon Temperature [update]

Graph Template

[success] Cisco EnvMon Temperature [update]
And surely by now the .xml should have been generated, but it's still not there. Now I may indeed be messing something up here, I'm completely not ruling that out (I am pretty new to Cacti), but it seems to be importing fine (to me anyway). I'll try to just stick that .xml in when you get a chance to post it, I have a hunch it'll just work fine.
Thanks for your help...
-Byron

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#15 Post by gandalf » Fri Dec 02, 2005 5:49 am

I'm sorry for that as I did not try this out by myself. So I'll attach both XML queries here
Reinhard
Attachments
cisco_envmon_temp.xml
Temperature
(935 Bytes) Downloaded 9524 times
cisco_envmon_voltage.xml
Voltage
(1.12 KiB) Downloaded 7101 times

Post Reply