Mikrotik RouterOS Statistics (Update 01/21/2006)

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
mojiro
Cacti User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Ireland, Dublin

Mikrotik RouterOS Statistics (Update 01/21/2006)

#1 Post by mojiro » Thu Aug 11, 2005 4:32 am

Newer Version:
Mikrotik RouterOS Statistics (Update 01/18/2008)
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=25349
cacti version: cacti-0.8.6h

It has been tested only on Linux Slackware 9.1 with Mikrotik 2.8.22, 2.8.26, 2.9.2, 2.9.26, 2.9.10 .
I heard that the new Mikrotik version has RF Noise support, of course it will include in next versions.

I have created some templates for Mikrotik RouterOS. They capture both System and Wireless Status.
Be carefull Wireless Links that work in Client Mode should be monitored only. In other case SNMP
may damage your data.

There is support for:
  • Wireless - Data Rates
    Wireless - Frequency 802.11a
    Wireless - Frequency 802.11b/g
    Wireless - Signal Strength - Client Mode
    System - CPU Utilization
    System - Uptime
    System - Disk Space
    System - Memory Usage
##################################

Instalation:
1) Decompress somewhere the zipped file
2) Copy <unzip_dir>/xml_script/wmikrotik.xml at <cacti_dir>/resource/snmp_queries/
3) The files in folders
  • <unzip_dir>/data_query/*.xml
    <unzip_dir>/data_template/*.xml
    <unzip_dir>/graph_template/*.xml
    <unzip_dir>/host_template/*.xml
should be imported one by one from the Cacti Console at http://localhost/cacti/templates_import.php
4) Now you are ready to use them. Just go to Devices and add a new one with Mikrotik Template.
Attachments
mikrotik-cacti-0.8.6h.zip
Only for cacti-0.8.6h.
(60.22 KiB) Downloaded 3770 times
mikrotik.zip
Only for cacti-0.8.6f &amp; may for cacti-0.8.6g.
(48.37 KiB) Downloaded 3945 times
Last edited by mojiro on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:36 am, edited 4 times in total.
[i]Born to be online![/i]

User avatar
mojiro
Cacti User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Ireland, Dublin

#2 Post by mojiro » Thu Aug 11, 2005 4:38 am

and some fotos
Attachments
rates.png
rates.png (27.41 KiB) Viewed 44068 times
802_11a.png
802_11a.png (13.16 KiB) Viewed 44068 times
802_11bg.png
802_11bg.png (18.52 KiB) Viewed 44068 times
Last edited by mojiro on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
[i]Born to be online![/i]

User avatar
mojiro
Cacti User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Ireland, Dublin

#3 Post by mojiro » Thu Aug 11, 2005 4:39 am

some more :D
Attachments
uptime.png
uptime.png (18.09 KiB) Viewed 44066 times
signal.png
signal.png (21.22 KiB) Viewed 44067 times
Last edited by mojiro on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
[i]Born to be online![/i]

eugenevdm
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:40 am

Problem using these templates

#4 Post by eugenevdm » Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:47 am

I'm trying to use this example and then when I create a new device using the Mikrotik host template I get the following:

"

Notice: Undefined index: arg_index in /home/httpd/vhosts/cacti.snowball.co.za/httpdocs/lib/data_query.php on line 98

Notice: Undefined index: script_path in /home/httpd/vhosts/cacti.snowball.co.za/httpdocs/lib/data_query.php on line 98

Notice: Undefined index: arg_query in /home/httpd/vhosts/cacti.snowball.co.za/httpdocs/lib/data_query.php on line 109

Notice: Undefined index: query_name in /home/httpd/vhosts/cacti.snowball.co.za/httpdocs/lib/data_query.php on line 109

..."

I suspect I'm missing something, perhaps to do with the Mikrotik Wireless AP because when I delete this data query I don't get any errors but it doesn't work as intended. Please could you help me.

User avatar
mojiro
Cacti User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Ireland, Dublin

#5 Post by mojiro » Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:29 pm

could you please tell me which version of cacti do you use,
and which updates you have done ?
Last edited by mojiro on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
[i]Born to be online![/i]

eugenevdm
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:40 am

#6 Post by eugenevdm » Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:35 pm

I am using Cacti cacti-0.8.6f wish SuSE 9.1 and I have applied no updates.

r_chetanjain
Cacti User
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:33 am

Error: XML: Hash version does not exist.

#7 Post by r_chetanjain » Fri Sep 02, 2005 3:00 am

I am using Redhat 9...while importing i get the error message
"Error: XML: Hash version does not exist." i am using 0.8.6d

Chetan

User avatar
mojiro
Cacti User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Ireland, Dublin

Re: Error: XML: Hash version does not exist.

#8 Post by mojiro » Fri Sep 02, 2005 9:05 am

r_chetanjain wrote:I am using Redhat 9...while importing i get the error message
"Error: XML: Hash version does not exist." i am using 0.8.6d

Chetan
this is obvious, I know this problem, and I have mentioned that, this
template is only for cacti 0.8.6f, because it was made with it. I do not
know what will happen with an upgrade. please be careful and buckup
everything, before doing any upgrades or changes. you may loose your
data.
eugenevdm wrote:I am using Cacti cacti-0.8.6f wish SuSE 9.1 and I have applied no updates.
I'm working on this.... but I may be late because of school exams.
Last edited by mojiro on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
[i]Born to be online![/i]

impiouspunk
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:04 pm

#9 Post by impiouspunk » Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:05 pm

When graphing the wireless portion, what do I put in the following fields?

Index Type
Index Value
Output Type ID

Octopus
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 10:13 am

#10 Post by Octopus » Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:55 am

http://cacti.mijninternet.com/graph_view.php

under tree routers

It works fine !! only a get no graps from te node script only the clients works very nice

Greets richard

impiouspunk
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:04 pm

#11 Post by impiouspunk » Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:09 am

Why does this not work for Access Point? I can only get this to graph interfaces in client mode.

User avatar
mojiro
Cacti User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Ireland, Dublin

#12 Post by mojiro » Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:56 pm

impiouspunk wrote:Why does this not work for Access Point? I can only get this to graph interfaces in client mode.
because it was made for the oids that being produced from

/interface wireless print oid

and not the

/interface wireless registration-table print oid

The first one is only for clients, the second one is for ap/client/etc mode
but it was to difficult for me to find a method, to catch the signal from
every client(because its time, I had different registrations).

It will be usefull only on backbone links, because we have one registration
on avery link.
Last edited by mojiro on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
[i]Born to be online![/i]

impiouspunk
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:04 pm

#13 Post by impiouspunk » Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:27 pm

mojiro wrote:
impiouspunk wrote:Why does this not work for Access Point? I can only get this to graph interfaces in client mode.
because it was made for the oids that being produced from

/interface wireless print oid

and not the

/interface wireless registration-table print oid

The first one is only for clients, the second one is for ap/client/etc mode
but it was to difficult for me to find a method, to catch the signal from
every client(because its time, I had different registrations).

It will be usefull only on backbone links, because we have one registration
on avery link.
I'm not trying to graph registration table...im trying to graph [specificly] AP Frequency but it never works. It tells me the data query has returned 0 results under the 'Mikrotik AP' portion of the data queries. Any ideas?

impiouspunk
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:04 pm

#14 Post by impiouspunk » Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:07 am

impiouspunk wrote:
mojiro wrote:
impiouspunk wrote:Why does this not work for Access Point? I can only get this to graph interfaces in client mode.
because it was made for the oids that being produced from

/interface wireless print oid

and not the

/interface wireless registration-table print oid

The first one is only for clients, the second one is for ap/client/etc mode
but it was to difficult for me to find a method, to catch the signal from
every client(because its time, I had different registrations).

It will be usefull only on backbone links, because we have one registration
on avery link.
I'm not trying to graph registration table...im trying to graph [specificly] AP Frequency but it never works. It tells me the data query has returned 0 results under the 'Mikrotik AP' portion of the data queries. Any ideas?
bump

User avatar
mojiro
Cacti User
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:20 pm
Location: Ireland, Dublin

#15 Post by mojiro » Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:54 pm

the information I receive, are from

/interface wireless print oid

which works only when you are in client mode, this is a "mikrotik" issue
mostly and snmp, I cannot do something.

when you are "client" you "ask" for the availiable data rates, if accept
them then you play.

but an ap, before give or set the apropriate data rate, will check if it is
possible to activate it. for every client switches in different data rate. if
a client has 11mbit data rate, another may has 2mbit or 1mbit. so it is
impossible to say that the ap.

something similar happens and on the frequency value.

ap & client(and ad-hoc) mode are too different because the number of
the remote connections/registrations. you may ask at mikrotik forums
for more information on this problem.
Last edited by mojiro on Sat Jul 05, 2008 6:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
[i]Born to be online![/i]

Post Reply