Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 114 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Monitoring Exchange 2003 from Linux Cacti
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:27 am
Posts: 25
Hi guys,

After spending so much time trying to get this to work I felt like sharing my solution :D . This works perfect and it is based on the XML templates from this post: http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t ... t=exchange - Thanks to DevilSun

I re-created all the Perl scripts for use with Nagios "check_nt" and I can now Monitor the following:

Connections, Delivery stats, Filtering, IMF.[/list]

Get the XML data/graph template from the post above!


Attachments:
exchange_imf_script.pl.txt [4.11 KiB]
Downloaded 3421 times
exchange_filters_script.pl.txt [3.8 KiB]
Downloaded 2207 times
exchange_emails_script.pl.txt [1.27 KiB]
Downloaded 2760 times
exchange_users_script.pl.txt [709 Bytes]
Downloaded 4245 times

_________________
¬¬ZeRoY¬¬
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: More details
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:27 am
Posts: 25
Forgot to add, on the exchange side, I have NSClient Distrib-1.07.1 installed as a service, SNMP + WMI installed also.

I attached the full package this time with updated XML files. Enjoy,


Attachments:
exchange_cacti.zip [25.49 KiB]
Downloaded 4577 times

_________________
¬¬ZeRoY¬¬
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:42 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 443
SO what do you need to do to get this to work?

Put NSClient on Exchange server? Enable SNMP? Add WMI extensions to SNMP?

Argon0

_________________
[size=50]No longer a n00by but[/size] not yet an 0ldby

Now Head of Technology at RSCH, back to the prickly subject of Monitorring....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 35
I tried to import the template and got this.


Attachments:
File comment: XML Hasherror
hasherror.JPG
hasherror.JPG [ 25.58 KiB | Viewed 74070 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: More details
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 35
zeroy wrote:
Forgot to add, on the exchange side, I have NSClient Distrib-1.07.1 installed as a service, SNMP + WMI installed also.


What do you use for SNMP + WMI??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 12:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:27 am
Posts: 25
I check templates and they import ok on my Cacti (0.8.6h) on ClarkConnect 3.2home.

What template caused the problem?

For the other question, SNMP + WMI are installed from Windows 2003 server Setup, see pic attached.


Attachments:
File comment: Installing SNMP + WMI on Windows 2003 Server
SNMP.png
SNMP.png [ 8.96 KiB | Viewed 74055 times ]

_________________
¬¬ZeRoY¬¬
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 12:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 35
I am using Cacti 0.6.8g, I wonder if thats my problem....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:27 am
Posts: 25
Couldn't tell, my first time using Cacti :D

_________________
¬¬ZeRoY¬¬


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 35
Yeah that is it. Since your using a higher version cacti the XML hash is too high. I am reviewing this post to see if I can use the new XML somehow.

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=10135&highlight=error+xml+hash


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 35
I see nothing that can help me. I guess I have to upgrade to 0.6.8h. Can anyone think of anything else before I upgrade. I would hate to upgrade a good stable Cacti installation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:27 am
Posts: 25
My XML templates are taken from these:
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t ... t=exchange

See if you can import those, if yes then all you have to change is the "Data Input Method". In there change the name of the Perl Script you are calling + remove the <instance> input field and also the <instance> after the Perl script path.

_________________
¬¬ZeRoY¬¬


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 35
I will give that a try tonight and let you know the results. Maybe that will help other struggling Unix admins.. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 4:47 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 443
Zeroy:

I've installed WMI + SNMP on win2k - is any further configuration required once installed?

<cheers>

Argon0

_________________
[size=50]No longer a n00by but[/size] not yet an 0ldby

Now Head of Technology at RSCH, back to the prickly subject of Monitorring....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:29 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 443
Ok... Got the templates imported/installed - but graphs are all blank,.,.

Debugging the graphs gives (for instance):
Code:
    RRDTool Command:

/usr/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="CRYUKE16EX1 - Exchange Connections" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="Connections" \
--slope-mode \
DEF:a="/var/www/html/rra/cryuke16ex1_count_active_users_164.rrd":count_users:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="/var/www/html/rra/cryuke16ex1_count_active_users_164.rrd":count_active_users:AVERAGE \
AREA:a#005199:"Users"  \
GPRINT:a:LAST:"       Current\:%8.0lf"  \
GPRINT:a:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.0lf"  \
GPRINT:a:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.0lf\n"  \
LINE2:b#FF4105:"Active Users"  \
GPRINT:b:LAST:"Current\:%8.0lf"  \
GPRINT:b:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.0lf"  \
GPRINT:b:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.0lf\n"

RRDTool Says:

OK


Is there anything else I need to start on the Exchange server?[/code]

_________________
[size=50]No longer a n00by but[/size] not yet an 0ldby

Now Head of Technology at RSCH, back to the prickly subject of Monitorring....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:27 am
Posts: 25
Can you get SNMP infos from your Win2k host? if so then it should work ok. Make sure NSClient is running as well on the W2k host. Also Nagios check_nt needs to be installed on the Cacti box,

_________________
¬¬ZeRoY¬¬


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 114 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group