Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: DOCSIS Stats
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:41 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12130
Location: USA
Below is a simple script which queries DOCSIS cable modems for various stats. It uses the Cacti PHP script server so it's pretty efficient. Not all modems report the downstream/upstream power levels.

Created on Cacti 0.8.6h + patches.

Installation
1) Place ss_docsis_stats.php in your ./cacti/scripts/ folder.
2) Import the templates
3) Create the date sources and graph templates.


Attachments:
File comment: templates and script
docsis-1.1.zip [9.98 KiB]
Downloaded 3418 times
signal_levels.png
signal_levels.png [ 30.17 KiB | Viewed 62052 times ]
stat_counters.png
stat_counters.png [ 30.97 KiB | Viewed 62052 times ]

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Last edited by BSOD2600 on Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:55 pm
Posts: 2
This is my first attempt at importing but I get an error.

Error: XML: Cacti version does not exist.

Maybe someone can tell me what it means and how to correct it.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:55 am 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12130
Location: USA
Since I created/exported the template with Cacti 0.8.6h + patches, you must be running this minimum version too.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:55 pm
Posts: 2
Since it was a fresh install anyway, I wiped it and started over and it imported fine. Thanks for the reply.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 8:27 pm
Posts: 25
Looks good, but my ISP (Comcast) disables SNMP access for customers, so it won't work.

Is there any way to do it with lynx and essentially capture those same values from the cable modem configuration pages?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:16 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12130
Location: USA
Yea, it would be possible to do that... although, since I'm on Charter and found out the private SNMP community string AND they don't limit it to certain IP ranges like Comcast does (parents have it back home), it's not a top priority for me.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm
Posts: 9
Am I missing something? I set this up and for whatever reason it will generate the graphs but pass no information to it. I can actually manually run the ss_docsis.stats.php and it comes back with this:
docsIfDownChannelPower:-74 docsIfSigQSignalNoise:354 docsIfSigQMicroreflections:35 docsIfCmRangingTimeout:5 docsIfCmStatusTxPower:480 docsIfCmStatusResets:0 docsIfCmStatusLostSyncs:0 docsIfCmStatusT1Timeouts:0 docsIfCmStatusT2Timeouts:0 docsIfCmStatusT3Timeouts:2076 docsIfCmStatusT4Timeouts:0[[email protected] scripts]# php ss_docsis_stats.php 192.168.100.1 public 1 161 500

Yet the cacti.log comes back with this when its setup:
02/15/2006 12:50:02 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[65] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid. Partial Result: docsIfDownChannelPow

any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:05 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12130
Location: USA
Seems the scripts output is getting chopped when cacti runs it? Run cacti with debugging logging and see what it's trying to do.

You running cacti 0.8.6h + patches?
What version of everything are you running?
What is your max_execution_time and max_input_time for php?

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm
Posts: 9
Here's the error message in debug mode:

02/15/2006 02:30:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: INCLUDE: '/var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php' SCRIPT: 'ss_docsis_stats' CMD: '192.168.100.1public116150000'
02/15/2006 02:30:02 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[67] SERVER: /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php ss_docsis_stats 192.168.100.1public116150000, output: U
02/15/2006 02:30:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] SERVER: /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php ss_docsis_stats 192.168.100.1public116150000 output docsIfDownChannelPower:NaN docsIfSigQSignalNoise:NaN docsIfSigQMicroreflections:NaN docsIfCmRangingTimeout:NaN docsIfCmStatusTxPower:NaN docsIfCmStatusResets:NaN docsIfCmStatusLostSyncs:NaN docsIfCmStatusT1Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT2Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT3Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT4Timeouts:NaN


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:14 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12130
Location: USA
There should be spaces between each set of variables that are passed to the script. Did you edit it or something?

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm
Posts: 9
Nope, I have not touched the script in any way, shape, or form. When you suggested turning on debug that's the first thing that looked strange to me. Spaces. Although I have no idea how to force spaces in there at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:16 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12130
Location: USA
Very odd. Take a look at the DOCSIS Stats data input method. Are there spaces between the variables in the Input String?

Try clearing your poller cache.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm
Posts: 9
And... there we go. Thank you. I tried putting the spaces in there earlier, but I didn't clear out the poller cache. That seemed to do the trick.


Attachments:
untitled.jpg
untitled.jpg [ 131.89 KiB | Viewed 61640 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 1:35 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Meadville, PA
So, your modem doesn't support SNMP? No worries, this script will support alot of modems WITHOUT SNMP...w00t :lol: !! Now, getting it to work with cacti might be a little challenging. I did my part by getting all the files in a zip; so, lets work together and get this going...it's a great tool. :o

Files attached!


Attachments:
cacti_modem.zip [27.35 KiB]
Downloaded 2104 times

_________________
Donald D. Quindardo
Computer Technician & Web Master
Crawford Central School District
11280 Mercer Pike
Meadville, PA 16335
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 1:35 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Meadville, PA
Well, I posted some files that might have helped getting the DOCSIS data off of the cable modems that do not support SNMP. It works perfectly when I queue my firewall to grab the data via crontab and with the files I posted. I was wondering if anyone has it working in CACTI yet? It definitely would be a great thing since many ISPs disable SNMP on the client end. :D

_________________
Donald D. Quindardo
Computer Technician & Web Master
Crawford Central School District
11280 Mercer Pike
Meadville, PA 16335


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group