EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6g

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
The00Dustin
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 5:52 pm

#151 Post by The00Dustin » Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:32 pm

Hey all, here's my output:

Code: Select all

[12:31:45] admin - /usr/local/cacti> sudo php script_server.php
Password:
PHP Script Server has Started - Parent is cmd
/usr/bin/php /usr/local/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping (server) 20 ICMP
PHP Warning:  Unexpected character in input:  '' (ASCII=15) state=1 in /usr/bin/php on line 3796
PHP Warning:  Unexpected character in input:  '' (ASCII=15) state=1 in /usr/bin/php on line 3796
PHP Parse error:  parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /usr/bin/php on line 3796
Content-type: text/html
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.9
Any suggestions? TIA

KaiB
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:04 am
Location: Norway

#152 Post by KaiB » Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:05 am

Managed to sort my problem out.

Found out I had to explicitly state the path to php.exe

I changed this:
php <path_cacti>/scripts/ss_fping.php <hostname> <attempts> <protocol> <port>

Into this.
c:/php/php.exe <path_cacti>/scripts/ss_fping.php <hostname> <attempts> <protocol> <port>

And now it works excellent with cactid. :D
Regards

User avatar
chercen
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:16 pm
Location: Spain

#153 Post by chercen » Fri Apr 28, 2006 4:06 pm

Hello,

I would like to try the "Advanced ping", but I am running cacti on RHEL3 and this distro offers only php 4 packages. I have found some php5 rpms for RHEL3 compiled from CentOS SRPMS, but I am not sure if this will affect stability of our server...

I suppose the new version of "Advanced ping" is quite better, so I would like to try it (old one did support php 4...). Do you know if there is any way to workaround this? Any "Advanced Ping 1.3" for php 4 with the updates you have made to the new one?

Regards,

Cesar


TheWitness wrote:Hello,

I have made some additional speedups as well as support for IPv6 in ping.php. Please keep in mind that you must have PHP 5.x or better.

Also, please note, that I have moved to the dark side (Linux) as of yesterday and saw some nasty things relative to DNS caching. Therefore, I made some additional changes to speed that stuff up.

I think you will like these enhancements.

Regards,

TheWitness

claranet
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 3:09 am

Still problems with U return !!

#154 Post by claranet » Thu May 11, 2006 2:08 am

Hi all,

I have still problems with this template.

Versions:

Code: Select all

ii  cacti            0.8.6h-3
ii  cacti-cactid     0.8.6g-2+b1
ii  rrdtool          1.2.11-0.5
ii  php-net-socket   1.0.6-2
ii  php4             v 4.4.2-1
ii  php4-common      4.4.2-1+b1
ii  php4-mysql       4.4.2-1+b1
ii  php4-snmp        4.4.2-1+b1
ii  php5-common      5.1.2-1+b1
The OS is debian testing (etch).

I have also installed the last versions of ping.php, ss_fping.php and the xml template (v 1.3).

In manual mode all is ok:

Code: Select all

gauss:/usr/share/cacti/site# php script_server.php
PHP Script Server has Started - Parent is cmd
/usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 80.48.53.32 20


min:0.4700 avg:0.5365 max:0.9800 dev:0.1216 loss:0.0000
/usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.es 20
min:25.3100 avg:25.5655 max:25.9400 dev:0.1961 loss:0.0000
/usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 80.48.53.32 20
min:0.4500 avg:0.5690 max:0.9800 dev:0.1656 loss:0.0000
quit
PHP Script Server Shutdown request received, exiting
And the poller is cmd.php.

But, the graph is not painted (always NaN) and the return of the cacti.log is:

Code: Select all

05/11/2006 08:44:02 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[4] DS[141] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid.  Partial Result:
05/11/2006 08:44:02 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[4] DS[141] SERVER: /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 80.48.53.32 20 ICMP, output: U
05/11/2006 08:44:03 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[9] DS[142] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid.  Partial Result:
05/11/2006 08:44:03 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[9] DS[142] SERVER: /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.es 20 ICMP, output: U
Olny when I make Advanced Pings to TCP 80 is ok:

Code: Select all

05/11/2006 08:50:03 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[9] DS[142] SERVER: /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.es 20 ICMP, output: U
05/11/2006 08:50:03 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[10] DS[143] SERVER: /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.com 20 TCP 80, output: min:0.5200 avg:0.8650 max:1.4500 dev:0.3385 loss:0.0000
But I need to do ICMP pings.

I've change the user to the poller, but nothing solved:

Code: Select all

gauss:/usr/share/cacti/site# cat /etc/cron.d/cacti
MAILTO=root
*/1 * * * * root /usr/share/cacti/site/poller.php >/dev/null 2>/var/log/cacti/poller-error.log
Only works a litle bit when I change the poller from cmd.php to cactid, but if I do that, the perl scripts for localhost doesn't work:

Code: Select all

gauss:/usr/share/cacti/site# php poller.php
CACTID: Host[1] ERROR: Empty result [127.0.0.1]: 'perl /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/linux_memory.pl MemFree:'
CACTID: Host[1] DS[3] WARNING: Result from SCRIPT not valid. Partial Result: ...
I've said a litle bit, because the ICMP pings to the router (the IP), still doesn't work:

Code: Select all

05/11/2006 08:59:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[4] DS[141] SS[0] SERVER: /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 80.48.53.32 20 ICMP, output: U
05/11/2006 08:59:03 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[9] DS[142] SS[0] SERVER: /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.es 20 ICMP, output: min:0.5200 avg:0.7065 max:2.2000 dev:0.3622 loss:0.0000
05/11/2006 08:59:03 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[10] DS[143] SS[0] SERVER: /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping www.google.com 20 TCP 80, output: min:25.3900 avg:25.7840 max:26.2300 dev:0.2357 loss:0.0000

Any idea to fix one thing or the other, in cmd.php or in cactid, and achive the ICMP pings to 80.48.53.32?

Sorry for the extension, but I am desperate :cry: ...

ste81
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 9:23 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Remote smokeping?

#155 Post by ste81 » Mon May 15, 2006 4:59 am

Ok, smokeping is very very great and usefull, but for example: I need to trace smokeping not from cacti server to another host, but throught two different host.

How can be deployed? It's possibile?


Thanks
Ste
Ste
http://www.stefanocislaghi.it/

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#156 Post by TheWitness » Mon May 15, 2006 6:09 am

Cisco SAA stats. You can utilize the smokeping like graphs for it's statistics.

TheWitness

Here are some relevant posts. It works best as a data query for pre-defined SAA probes, but bulek has a point.

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t ... hlight=saa
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=2807
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t ... hlight=saa
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t ... hlight=saa
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

iep
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 4:01 am

#157 Post by iep » Tue May 23, 2006 8:58 am

I'm experiencing one little problem with this template.

I would like to just do a smokeping to an external host. So I added this host to my devices.
Since this device is not mine and thus not responding to snmp packets, I get an SNMP error, and this host gets marked as down within cacti.

Now when this happens I do not get any graphs for my ping, because the ping does not get executed since the host seems down for snmp.

Can this be fixed in any way ?

Thx
IEP

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#158 Post by TheWitness » Tue May 23, 2006 8:46 pm

claranet,

To run the ICMP version fo the advanced ping template in *nix, you need to either set PHP as an "asroot" permissable application, or run the poller as root.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

qwertz
Cacti User
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:20 am

#159 Post by qwertz » Wed May 24, 2006 1:34 am

Hello,

I tried to monitor cisco with this beautiful template but i have often holes in the graph. Do you know why?

Thanks

Qwertz
Attachments
cisco.jpg
cisco.jpg (41.71 KiB) Viewed 7793 times

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#160 Post by TheWitness » Wed May 24, 2006 6:09 am

1) Server duplex mismatch
2) Ping timeout set too low.

For item 2) see Settings->Poller for more information.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

claranet
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 3:09 am

#161 Post by claranet » Thu May 25, 2006 5:11 am

Hi WitNess,

I do execute poller as root:

Code: Select all

gauss:/usr/share/cacti/site# cat /etc/cron.d/cacti
MAILTO=root
*/1 * * * * root /usr/share/cacti/site/poller.php >/dev/null 2>/var/log/cacti/poller-error.log
But nothing

qwertz
Cacti User
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:20 am

#162 Post by qwertz » Thu May 25, 2006 11:43 am

Thanks Witness

Below is my poller settings.


Do you thing i should change something

Thanks
Qwertz
Attachments
poller.JPG
poller.JPG (123.78 KiB) Viewed 7729 times

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#163 Post by TheWitness » Thu May 25, 2006 7:31 pm

It all looks good to me. Don't know what's going on.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

qwertz
Cacti User
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:20 am

#164 Post by qwertz » Wed May 31, 2006 10:51 am

It seems to be because of my Netscreen NS 500 FireWall because the script are working fine without going trough it. I jhave to notice that i have a problem with a another perl script (weathermap) where the TCP connection stay ESTABLISHED and never close. this causes the processes to increase without limit ... until the crash
For me it must me a "problem" with the FireWall Netcreen NS-500

Thanks
Qwertz

User avatar
deneken01
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 4:07 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#165 Post by deneken01 » Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:06 am

Hello,

When using this script I get a strange output;

On my localhost the script works without a problem, but when I am using this script on a Cisco router the graph is not being updated. From the cli I can see that the script is working fine, also in the log file the script works fine,

I am using the latest version of CactiEZ.
Could any one tell me what is going on, or help me to solve this.

Thanks in advanced.
Lucas Deneken
Attachments
smokingping-BE.jpg
Smoking ping on remote router
smokingping-BE.jpg (33.57 KiB) Viewed 7461 times
smokingping-localhost.jpg
Smoking ping on localhost
smokingping-localhost.jpg (33.28 KiB) Viewed 7461 times

Post Reply