Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2019 9:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 527 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 36  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Help!! what am I doing wrong setting up a host for pinging??
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:54 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 57
I've set up a ping on a host outside.
Created the 'device' as a Windows/XP host, and as a type 'none'
since SNMP isn't involved here.

when I select that device, create a graph, I can then select the AdvPing 1.3

When I run this, I get good results
[[email protected] cacti]# /usr/bin/php /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php esis.ncwise.org 10 TCP 80
min:23.8300 avg:31.9010 max:81.2800 dev:17.5068 loss:0.0000[[email protected] cacti]#

So I don't know what the following error is:

RRDTool Says:

ERROR: opening '/var/www/html/cacti/rra/ncwise_dev_583.rrd': No such file or directory


It looks like I've done something dumb creating my device and linking the graph output to it.....

What am I missing in creating a host?

Newbie directions on using this would be handy just now-- unlike many of you, I'm not converting from existing stuff... just trying to get started with pinging a host...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:16 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
You surely left the community string for that host empty to suppress "availabilty" checks?
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Last edited by gandalf on Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ah..
PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 1:54 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 57
so that's how you disable SNMP for a host..

I thought there'd be a checkbox smoewheres....

will try that..

One other host is working fine-- albeit that it returns all pings at 100ms or better... which aint' true from the commandline of the Linuxbox...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I get nan data
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 12:03 am
Posts: 14
Location: Cagayan de Oro,Philippines
Hi Lvm,

I am using cacti0.8.6h, I only imported the advanced ping template since the ss_fping.php and ping.php already exists in the cacti directory. Im wondering why I am getting nan values or my graph is only red. I tried manually the ss_fping.php script using script server and the result is good. However when I used rrdtool fetch on the database all I can see is nan. Anybody has any idea here? or Do I have to overwrite the existing ss_fping.php or ping.php with the ones you posted.

Thanks and Good Day

_________________
"Knowledge is Power"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ss_fping and ping.php
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:07 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:53 pm
Posts: 57
That's what I did--- just overwrote all of it...

Unfortunately, I cannot get away from some RRDTool errors,
and the one host I have pinging on ICMP just reports 100%... not actual packet statistics..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ss_fping and ping.php
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:28 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
treimers wrote:
That's what I did--- just overwrote all of it...
Yep, make sure to use the latest version

Quote:
Unfortunately, I cannot get away from some RRDTool errors,
and the one host I have pinging on ICMP just reports 100%... not actual packet statistics..
When running on linux, ICMP will require special permissions. Run in DEBUG mode for one polling cycle to check. Else, please be more specific as to your rrdtool error
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: no reply
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 8:56 am
Posts: 7
everything is ok, but when is the destination down (no ping reply) i didnt get RED color like 100% packet loss but this "WHITE HOLE". Where is problem? Or its correct? May be its when ping get answer:

Reply from xx.xx.xx.85: Destination host unreachable.

thnx for help or answ :-) Tom

--
end where is green staff at AVG LATENCY 0:-)


Attachments:
ping.JPG
ping.JPG [ 79.84 KiB | Viewed 8214 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:26 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:43 pm
Posts: 52
How do i give apache the rights too run this tool too open the socket. I am running CentOS. I can run it from CLI root all day long, and it outputs correctly, all my files are chown apache. In fact i would love it, if someone made a permissions sheet too go with the linux install. I followed the directions of the PDF how to, which was awesome. But i ran into numerous permision problems, with extra templates...

_________________
| Cacti 0.8.6h | MySQL 5.0.22 | PHP 5.1.2
|Apache2.20 | RRDtool 1.2.13 | CentOS 4.3 | P4 3200Mhz | 2.5GB |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 3:05 am
Posts: 29
Does it work under Windows?

I got:
C:\>c:\php\php C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_fping.php ss_fping 172.16.1.1 20 ICMP
Cannot find module (IP-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (IF-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (TCP-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (UDP-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMPv2-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMPv2-SMI): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (UCD-SNMP-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (UCD-DEMO-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMP-TARGET-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMP-VIEW-BASED-ACM-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMP-COMMUNITY-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (UCD-DLMOD-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMP-FRAMEWORK-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMP-MPD-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMP-USER-BASED-SM-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMP-NOTIFICATION-MIB): At line 0 in (none)
Cannot find module (SNMPv2-TM): At line 0 in (none)

Notice: Undefined variable: method in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_fping.php on line 56

Warning: socket_connect() expects parameter 3 to be long, string given in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\ping.php on line 220

Warning: socket_write(): unable to write to socket [0]: A request to send or receive data was disallowed because the socket is not connected and (when sending on a datagram socket using a sendto call) no address was supplied.
in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\ping.php on line 244

Notice: Undefined variable: method in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_fping.php on line 56

Warning: socket_connect() expects parameter 3 to be long, string given in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\ping.php on line 220

Warning: socket_write(): unable to write to socket [0]: A request to send or receive data was disallowed because the socket is not connected and (when sending on a datagram socket using a sendto call) no address was supplied.
in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\ping.php on line 244

Notice: Undefined variable: method in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_fping.php on line 56

Warning: socket_connect() expects parameter 3 to be long, string given in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\ping.php on line 220

And so on...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 3:05 am
Posts: 29
Sorry, it works. The command line was wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:12 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:43 pm
Posts: 52
Anyone have an answer too my question above? :roll:

_________________
| Cacti 0.8.6h | MySQL 5.0.22 | PHP 5.1.2
|Apache2.20 | RRDtool 1.2.13 | CentOS 4.3 | P4 3200Mhz | 2.5GB |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Which versions of ss_fping and ping.php to use??/
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:59 am
Posts: 17
Ok on the first page of this thread is the template, ss_fping, and ping.php.

On page 3, there are newer? versions of these utilities.

So which one do I use? I ask because on the commandline I get correct ping data, but in the graphs the ping latency is too low. (by about 6 ms)

It's cool to show graphs, but not when they are incorrect.

I'm running version 0.86h on FC4 with php5, rrdtool 1.2 and advanced ping 1.3 template.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:29 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:43 pm
Posts: 52
Still no answer on the permissions...I would like too know how too allow this ping script too run...Currently everything is set too run as Apache..Everything runs fine but this script...How would i go about giving the script permisions

_________________
| Cacti 0.8.6h | MySQL 5.0.22 | PHP 5.1.2
|Apache2.20 | RRDtool 1.2.13 | CentOS 4.3 | P4 3200Mhz | 2.5GB |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ^permissions...
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:59 am
Posts: 17
I think the deal is ping has to be done from root. Run the poller as root and I'll bet you it works... I know that's not ideal but...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:15 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:43 pm
Posts: 52
so chown it root:root? If thats the case, then ive already done that.

_________________
| Cacti 0.8.6h | MySQL 5.0.22 | PHP 5.1.2
|Apache2.20 | RRDtool 1.2.13 | CentOS 4.3 | P4 3200Mhz | 2.5GB |


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 527 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 36  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group