EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6g

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
bltst2
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:54 pm

Still having problems...

#211 Post by bltst2 » Wed Oct 25, 2006 11:09 am

I'm still having this issue, no solution has been found yet. I'd appreciate some help...

Graph is being created, but is empty of data. Any ideas?

[[email protected] scripts]# php ss_fping.php 4.2.2.1 ICMP
PHP Fatal error: Class 'Net_Ping' not found in /var/lib/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php on line 25
[[email protected] scripts]# pear list
Installed packages, channel pear.php.net:
=========================================
Package Version State
Archive_Tar 1.3.1 stable
Console_Getopt 1.2 stable
Math_Stats 0.8.5 stable
Net_Ping 2.4.1 stable
PEAR 1.4.11 stable
XML_RPC 1.5.0 stable



It seems to be pulling data:
here is the Data Source Debug:
Data Source Debug

/usr/bin/rrdtool create \
/usr/share/cacti/rra/gte_dns_server_loss_40.rrd \
--step 300 \
DS:min:GAUGE:450:0:500 \
DS:dev:GAUGE:450:0:500 \
DS:max:GAUGE:450:0:500 \
DS:avg:GAUGE:450:0:500 \
DS:loss:GAUGE:450:0:100 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:288:797 \

rr
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 9:17 am

I do not want to run the poller as root

#212 Post by rr » Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:07 pm

I do not want to run the poller as root just for ss_fping. Should I
put a setuid C wrapper which calls execve() for php? This
is suggested for perl scripts.

Also, I have a fping binary installed. How can I get it to work with
this template instead of the php version?

Does ss_fping.php ping hosts in parallell to save time?

It would be nice if there was some permanent url to the latest
version of this template/scripts so you do not have to search many forum posts and still not knowing if you have the latest version.

And also it would be nice if the script was distributed as a unified diff (unix diff command) instead of new files.

airwalk
Cacti User
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:22 am
Location: MSK, RU

#213 Post by airwalk » Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:12 am

After upgrading from 0.8.6h to 0.8.6i all existing graphs show the following. Manual run of ss_fping returns "loss: 100".

Where to dig? Thanks in advance.
Attachments
untitled.png
untitled.png (23.78 KiB) Viewed 7241 times
ss_fping.PNG
ss_fping.PNG (2.31 KiB) Viewed 7241 times

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#214 Post by gandalf » Fri Nov 03, 2006 9:09 am

The parameters for the fping script are wrong. It should read "20 TCP" where you find "TCP" only. The number reflects the number of tests to run. Please visit the Data Sources and add the number
Reinhard

airwalk
Cacti User
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:22 am
Location: MSK, RU

#215 Post by airwalk » Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:56 am

Sorry, I've used wrong parameters for command line in screenshot. Now I attach the right one. As you see if I run ss_fping from command line everything is OK. The problem started after I upgraded from 0.8.6h to 0.8.i. Moreover this problem persists only on a number of hosts, not all while all have absolutely equal settings.
Attachments
cmd.PNG
cmd.PNG (3.13 KiB) Viewed 7181 times
data.source.PNG
data.source.PNG (7.25 KiB) Viewed 7181 times

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#216 Post by gandalf » Mon Nov 06, 2006 1:30 pm

Please select a failing host and verify, that _this_ data sources has the "numbers of times to ping the host" set properly. But first, you may want to "php rebuild_poller_cache.php" to make sure that all is up to date. Afterwards, please check "Utilities -> Poller Cache" and search for your host to verify, that the settings are seen by the poller
Reinhard

flipflap
Cacti User
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:13 pm

#217 Post by flipflap » Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:16 am

just wanted to clarify, this works for windows cacti install?

EDIT: it works for windows thanks :)

flipflap
Cacti User
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:13 pm

#218 Post by flipflap » Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:31 pm

is there a way to make advance ping poll every minute and not every five minutes like cacti? thanks

pikes
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:14 pm

#219 Post by pikes » Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:31 pm

flipflap wrote:is there a way to make advance ping poll every minute and not every five minutes like cacti? thanks
Doesn't the newest version of cacti (0.8.6i) allow you to change the polling to one minute?

Also, for anyone concerned, I may have solved the problem with advanced ping not returning a value when a device is down. I went into cacti's polling options and changed down host detection to "SNMP - Reliable" and also changed the ping type from UDP to ICMP. I have a threshold set up that sends an email when packet loss > 1. When a device would go into a "downed" state, first it will send me an email saying that it went above the threshold of 1 to 88.6667. The next poll will say it "restored to normal threshold with value " (not giving a value). At least it sends one email saying it is down...

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14817
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#220 Post by TheWitness » Sat Nov 11, 2006 8:37 am

Pikes,

This is an integration issue. There are many changes that I had planned for 0.9 and this is one of them. I have been finding it difficult to focus on 0.9. I spend too much time on the forums and writing excellent plug-ins.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

konan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:36 am

#221 Post by konan » Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:18 am

TheWitness wrote:I think maybe the lack of black bar could be the lack/number of successful ping results. You could add some delay using the usleep(xxx) function in ss_fping.php between ping attempts, where xxx are microseconds.

TheWitness
Where exactly in ss_fping.php should I put usleep(xxx) function, to get higher timeout?


Thanx for help!

konan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:36 am

Advanced Ping rrdtool

#222 Post by konan » Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:56 am

When my host goes down, cacti stops makeing graf for advanced ping. But when host comes back up, cacti have to execute 2 pooler-s, before graf continue to render again.

What could cause the problem?

pikes
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:14 pm

#223 Post by pikes » Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:50 am

TheWitness wrote:
writing excellent plug-ins.
Tooting your own horn a bit? :D Just kidding, keep up the good work!

flipflap
Cacti User
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:13 pm

#224 Post by flipflap » Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:03 pm

pikes wrote:
flipflap wrote:is there a way to make advance ping poll every minute and not every five minutes like cacti? thanks
Doesn't the newest version of cacti (0.8.6i) allow you to change the polling to one minute?
where in "i" variant do you change the polling interval to 1 minute? thanks

leo2016
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 4:03 am

#225 Post by leo2016 » Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:42 pm

some bady help me
i use ss_fping.php ping www.google.com.tw
why ss_fping.php use php_sockets.dll ><

Code: Select all

localhost ~ # php /var/www/localhost/htdocs/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php www.google.com.tw 20 ICMP
PHP Warning:  Unknown(): Unable to load dynamic library '/usr/lib/php4/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20020429/php_sockets.dll' - /usr/lib/php4/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20020429/php_sockets.dll: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory in Unknown on line 0

Fatal error: Call to undefined function:  socket_create() in /var/www/localhost/htdocs/cacti/lib/ping.php on line 117
localhost ~ #

Kernel Version 2.6.17-gentoo-r8 (SMP)
Distro Name Gentoo Base System version 1.12.5
Processors 2
Model Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.00GHz
CPU Speed 3 GHz
Cache Size 2048 KB
System Bogomips 12024.04
PCI Devices 00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE
00:0f.0 VGA compatible controller: VMware Inc [VMware SVGA II] PCI Display Adapter
00:10.0 SCSI storage controller: BusLogic BT-946C
00:11.0 Ethernet controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE]
IDE Devices hdc: VMware Virtual IDE CDROM Drive
SCSI Devices VMware, VMware Virtual S (Direct-Access)

Php Versionphp-4.4.4-r6
Cacti Version 0.8.6h

Post Reply