Report plugin ''ReportIt" - v0.7.5a (released 23/12/11)

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
mcutting
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:57 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#46 Post by mcutting » Mon Feb 26, 2007 7:53 am

Hi BrownieBraun,

When will this great plugin have the ability to monitor other data sources, for example, i'd like to choose my own, rather than the drop-down list ?

Regds
Cacti Version 0.8.8b
Cacti OS Ubuntu LTS
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.7
Poller Information
Type SPINE 0.8.8b

User avatar
browniebraun
Developer
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:17 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

#47 Post by browniebraun » Mon Feb 26, 2007 2:48 pm

Hi Cacti community!

Sorry for my late answer, but I'm a little busy at the moment. :(
I've uploaded the current version v0.3.1. It includes 3 bug fixes / changes:

- (a)Fixed definition of table reportit_reports
- (b)Separate sub folder for csv export (The webserver needs read/write access for it.)
- (c)Export header has been moved from "graph settings" (user) to settings/reports (global)

a: There seems to be some versions of MySQL which are not able to translate BOOL into TINYINT. To my dishonor I've to admit that I've only worked with Microsoft SQL Servers before, so I write automatically and unconsciously in this syntax sometimes.
b: I think it would be better to hold the plugin and it's export files together, because it isn't guaranteed that the necessary server variables are available on every system.
c: IMO, it makes more sense to maintain an universal header for every csv file.


>When will this great plugin have the ability to monitor other data sources, for example, i'd like to choose my own, rather than the drop-down list ?
v0.4 will give you the option to create your own measurands. Some test script are running on my Linux Server, so I'm working on it.

Best regards
-Andreas-
Hat das Blümchen einen Knick, war der Schmetterling zu dick! ;)
reportit v0.7.5a
SNMPAgent v0.2.3
Download ReportIt | Download SNMPAgent | ReportIt SVN | ReportIt Templates | Wish list

zeki
Cacti User
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: So. Cal
Contact:

#48 Post by zeki » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:48 am

msw1970 wrote:Hi

New to all of this. I've found the install instructions for php_binding, but can't work out what my <php root> path is. Any ideas on the default install location on RHEL4??
i too would like some help on this.
i don't know where the php root is. possibly /var/lib/php? or /usr/lib64/php4?
i also can not find phpize

what happens to reportit after i untar it? should i put it in the cacti folder and overwrite some files or setup a web folder for it?

User avatar
fmangeant
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2326
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Contact:

#49 Post by fmangeant » Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:17 am

egarnel wrote:hmmm.... can't seem to find an rpm for rrdtool-php for either CentOs 4.x or RHEL 4.x.. & a manual config requires altering php confs..

I prefer rpms for ease of package maintenance, but if need be, I will compile it by hand.

I may forgo this plugin for the time being....
Hi

I also forgot this plugin...

You can find the php-rrdtool package here : http://dag.wieers.com/rpm/packages/rrdtool/
[size=84]
[color=green]HOWTOs[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15353]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Unix[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=26151]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=28175]Graph multiple servers using an SNMP proxy[/url][/list]
[color=green]Templates[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15412]Multiple CPU usage for Linux[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=125152]Memory & swap usage for Unix[/url][/list][/size]

User avatar
fmangeant
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2326
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Contact:

#50 Post by fmangeant » Wed Feb 28, 2007 5:33 am

browniebraun wrote:v0.4 will give you the option to create your own measurands. Some test script are running on my Linux Server, so I'm working on it.
Hi Andreas

first of all many thanks for your plugin, I really needed one :)
0.3.1 works fine of my test setup.

Do you have any ETA for the 0.4 release ?
[size=84]
[color=green]HOWTOs[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15353]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Unix[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=26151]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=28175]Graph multiple servers using an SNMP proxy[/url][/list]
[color=green]Templates[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15412]Multiple CPU usage for Linux[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=125152]Memory & swap usage for Unix[/url][/list][/size]

mcutting
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:57 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#51 Post by mcutting » Wed Feb 28, 2007 6:18 am

Ditto - I would like to be able to run reports on the data sources I have... :D
Cacti Version 0.8.8b
Cacti OS Ubuntu LTS
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.7
Poller Information
Type SPINE 0.8.8b

User avatar
egarnel
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 8:55 am
Location: Austin, TX

#52 Post by egarnel » Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:50 am

fmangeant wrote:
egarnel wrote:hmmm.... can't seem to find an rpm for rrdtool-php for either CentOs 4.x or RHEL 4.x.. & a manual config requires altering php confs..

I prefer rpms for ease of package maintenance, but if need be, I will compile it by hand.

I may forgo this plugin for the time being....
Hi

I also forgot this plugin...

You can find the php-rrdtool package here : http://dag.wieers.com/rpm/packages/rrdtool/
dohh... CactiEZ Cd has rrdtool 1.2.11 . The version on dag is 1.0.50...
Cacti1 OS: CentOS 5.6 | 300+ devices
Cacti2 OS: CentOS 5.6 | 300+ devices
King of the Elves
Local Anarchists Union #427
"Anarchism is founded on the observation that since few men are wise enough to rule themselves, even fewer are wise enough to rule others." -Edward Abbey

User avatar
browniebraun
Developer
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:17 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

#53 Post by browniebraun » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:02 pm

Hi Cacti community!

>i don't know where the php root is. possibly /var/lib/php? or /usr/lib64/php4?
Take a look at this posting, but you can use "reportit" without php bindings too.

>what happens to reportit after i untar it? should i put it in the cacti folder and overwrite some files or setup a web folder for it?
It's the same like installing one of the other plugins:
- Install Jimmy's plugin architecture if don't have it.
- Unpack the tar-file into the plugins folder. (It contains a folder called 'reportit')
- Edit /include/config.php and add " plugins[] = 'reportit'; "
- Then you will have to update your realm permissions under "Utilities/User Management".
- Check that your web server has read/write permissions for the csv folder (reportit/exports/csv)
- If you are running Cacti on Linux/Unix you can install the php bindings for RRDtool additionally.

>Do you have any ETA for the 0.4 release ?
End of march. (to Fizz: 4 Yusufs :D )
Some parts of it are finished, but there a some changes of reportit's table architecture necessary. So, I'll have to write a script for updating previous versions to v0.4 additionally.

Best regards
-Andreas-
Hat das Blümchen einen Knick, war der Schmetterling zu dick! ;)
reportit v0.7.5a
SNMPAgent v0.2.3
Download ReportIt | Download SNMPAgent | ReportIt SVN | ReportIt Templates | Wish list

mcutting
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:57 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

#54 Post by mcutting » Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:31 am

Just a question - if most of it is finished, but you need to write an upgrade script, could the likes of me not just drop the existing tables, and start from scratch using the newer version ? Really keen to try the new version out.

Thanks
Cacti Version 0.8.8b
Cacti OS Ubuntu LTS
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.7
Poller Information
Type SPINE 0.8.8b

User avatar
fmangeant
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2326
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Contact:

#55 Post by fmangeant » Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:18 am

egarnel wrote:dohh... CactiEZ Cd has rrdtool 1.2.11 . The version on dag is 1.0.50...
You can find this package (release 1.2.15 and 1.2.18) here also : http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/searc ... rdtool-php
[size=84]
[color=green]HOWTOs[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15353]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Unix[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=26151]Install and configure the Net-SNMP agent for Windows[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=28175]Graph multiple servers using an SNMP proxy[/url][/list]
[color=green]Templates[/color] :
[list][*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=15412]Multiple CPU usage for Linux[/url]
[*][url=http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=125152]Memory & swap usage for Unix[/url][/list][/size]

Skram
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:35 am
Location: Boeblingen, Germany

#56 Post by Skram » Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:16 am

Hi together,

does anybody use the cron job to process a daily report?
Because i would like to get a daily report of the average interfaces traffic from last day. Therefore I've created already some reports in reportit.
But with following cron job,
----------------------------
#Daily
0 0 * * * /usr/bin/php /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/reportit/runtime.php -d > /dev/null 2>&1
----------------------------
I've got always following error:
-----------------------------------------
PHP Warning: Call-time pass-by-reference has been deprecated - argument passed by value; If you would like to pass it by reference, modify the declaration of [runtime function name](). If you would like to enable call-time pass-by-reference, you can set allow_call_time_pass_reference to true in your INI file. However, future versions may not support this any longer. in /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/reportit/runtime.php on line 467
PHP Warning: Call-time pass-by-reference has been deprecated - argument passed by value; If you would like to pass it by reference, modify the declaration of [runtime function name](). If you would like to enable call-time pass-by-reference, you can set allow_call_time_pass_reference to true in your INI file. However, future versions may not support this any longer. in /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/reportit/runtime.php on line 467
PHP Notice: Undefined index: SCRIPT_FILENAME in /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/reportit/runtime.php on line 36
Content-type: text/html
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.9
-----------------------------------------

I use already version 0.3.1, but saw this problem also in version 0.3.0.
Does anyone had the same problem?
Any hints or solutions are welcome.

User avatar
browniebraun
Developer
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:17 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

#57 Post by browniebraun » Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:38 am

So, erst mal viele Gruesse von Koeln nach Boeblingen!

Thank you for posting this bug. The issue is that the call of this function in line 467 includes references. Normally references should be defined in the declaration part. This is not forbidden but it's really ugly. I'll change it.

Best regards
-Andreas-
Hat das Blümchen einen Knick, war der Schmetterling zu dick! ;)
reportit v0.7.5a
SNMPAgent v0.2.3
Download ReportIt | Download SNMPAgent | ReportIt SVN | ReportIt Templates | Wish list

User avatar
browniebraun
Developer
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:17 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

#58 Post by browniebraun » Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:12 pm

mcutting wrote:Just a question - if most of it is finished, but you need to write an upgrade script, could the likes of me not just drop the existing tables, and start from scratch using the newer version ? Really keen to try the new version out.
Sorry, my formulation was inexactly. Some parts of it are finished but I've no complete beta version at the moment. My proposal to you and the other ones which want to act as beta testers is to write me an email or private message including your email address. (And please write the name of this plugin into the header line, because there's a lot of Spam in my box.:-? )
I'll send you the beta version as soon as possible, but
next week my family and I will go on vacation to the German island called "Foehr". (After 4,5 years of studying beside my job and family and 15 day of holidays during this time, I'll have to get away from it all for a week.)

Best regards
-Andreas-
Hat das Blümchen einen Knick, war der Schmetterling zu dick! ;)
reportit v0.7.5a
SNMPAgent v0.2.3
Download ReportIt | Download SNMPAgent | ReportIt SVN | ReportIt Templates | Wish list

User avatar
browniebraun
Developer
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:17 am
Location: Cologne, Germany

#59 Post by browniebraun » Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:36 am

Skram wrote: PHP Warning: Call-time pass-by-reference has been deprecated - argument passed by value; If you would like to pass it by reference, modify the declaration of [runtime function name](). If you would like to enable call-time pass-by-reference, you can set allow_call_time_pass_reference to true in your INI file. However, future versions may not support this any longer. in /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/reportit/runtime.php on line 467
PHP Warning: Call-time pass-by-reference has been deprecated - argument passed by value; If you would like to pass it by reference, modify the declaration of [runtime function name](). If you would like to enable call-time pass-by-reference, you can set allow_call_time_pass_reference to true in your INI file. However, future versions may not support this any longer. in /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/reportit/runtime.php on line 467
PHP Notice: Undefined index: SCRIPT_FILENAME in /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/reportit/runtime.php on line 36
Content-type: text/html
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.9
-----------------------------------------

I use already version 0.3.1, but saw this problem also in version 0.3.0.
Does anyone had the same problem?
Any hints or solutions are welcome.

Good morning Cacti community,
I've just written an update with two bug fixes to solve this problem, so it should work now.


Best regards
-Andreas-
Hat das Blümchen einen Knick, war der Schmetterling zu dick! ;)
reportit v0.7.5a
SNMPAgent v0.2.3
Download ReportIt | Download SNMPAgent | ReportIt SVN | ReportIt Templates | Wish list

Skram
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:35 am
Location: Boeblingen, Germany

#60 Post by Skram » Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:00 am

Hallo Andreas, Gruesse nach Koeln.
Don't forget your rainwear for "Foehr". :wink:

Many thanks for your fast help. I've test the new version right this morning and the cron job works now without errors.

Nevertheless the corn job works daily, but my created daily reports were not updated. From my knowledge this reports should be updated every day (configuration below) with the cron job?

It would be useful the csv files would created automaticaly and not only after clicking on ".csv" and/or send this reports via sendmail. Maybe as option in version 0.4. :wink:
I will think about to participate on the next beta tests.
Attachments
ScreenShot005.jpg
ScreenShot005.jpg (200.17 KiB) Viewed 9725 times

Post Reply