ADVANCED Cisco Proc Memory Utilization Template

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
mjc
Cacti User
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 7:26 pm

ADVANCED Cisco Proc Memory Utilization Template

#1 Post by mjc » Tue Nov 22, 2005 8:35 pm

i found the default cisco free memory template does not give enough granularity and provide enough visibility of memory leaks.

this template for processor memory only will give you much more granularity and represents the largest free block, which is a key indicator of router health.

thus you can look at an extended graph over time and easily see if your memory is leaking out somewhere.

Image

no points for guessing when this 7600 was IOS upgraded from 12.2(18)SXD6 to 12.2(18)SXF hey :(

like what you see?

download the xml template


--matt

lorcs
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:27 am

Problem in installing Processor Memory in 0.86H

#2 Post by lorcs » Sat Feb 04, 2006 12:48 pm

Hi,

I have encounter following error while installing processor memory in my Cacti running 0.86h, here is the log I collect and I would be grateful if you can help me on this :

debug log

/usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.12/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="Backbone PE-1 - Proc Memory Usage" \
--rigid \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=800 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="percent" \
--slope-mode \
DEF:a="/var/www/html/cacti/rra/backbone_pe1_cisco_usedproc_24.rrd":cisco_usedproc:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="/var/www/html/cacti/rra/backbone_pe1_cisco_freeproc_22.rrd":cisco_freeproc:AVERAGE \
DEF:c="/var/www/html/cacti/rra/backbone_pe1_cisco_freeproc_22.rrd":cisco_freeproc:AVERAGE \
AREA:a#FF0000:"Proc Mem Used" \
GPRINT::LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:" Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::MAX:" Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
AREA:c#96E78A:"Proc Mem Free":STACK \
GPRINT::LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE1:c#0000FF:"Proc Mem Largest Free" \
GPRINT::LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n"

RRDTool Says:

ERROR: Could not parse line 'GPRINT::LAST: Current\:%8.2lf %s'

duckeo
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:58 pm

#3 Post by duckeo » Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:45 pm

I had to manually insert some rows to get this working on Cacti, follow on from CPU template

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value=".1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.48.1.1.1.6.1", data_template_data_id="72",  data_input_field_id="6";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="72",  data_input_field_id="5";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="72",  data_input_field_id="4";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="72",  data_input_field_id="3";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="72",  data_input_field_id="2";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="72",  data_input_field_id="1";

INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value=".1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.48.1.1.1.5.1", data_template_data_id="73", data_input_field_id="6";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="73",  data_input_field_id="5";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="73",  data_input_field_id="4";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="73",  data_input_field_id="3";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="73", data_input_field_id="1";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="", data_template_data_id="73", data_input_field_id="2";

INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="",  data_template_data_id="74", data_input_field_id="5";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value=".1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.48.1.1.1.7.1",  data_template_data_id="74", data_input_field_id="6";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="" , data_template_data_id="74", data_input_field_id="4";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="",  data_template_data_id="74",  data_input_field_id="3";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="",  data_template_data_id="74",  data_input_field_id="2";
INSERT INTO data_input_data SET t_value="",value="",  data_template_data_id="74",  data_input_field_id="1";

[/url]

Tybio
Cacti User
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:14 am

#4 Post by Tybio » Thu Mar 09, 2006 9:56 am

If you ever see GPRINT:: without a letter between the ::'s it means that your template's GPRINT lines are not linked to a data source.

Check the Template and make sure that the GPRINT lins are selected somewhere :)

Post Reply