Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2019 2:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: APC UPii Monitoring via Windows from *nix Cacti
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:32 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
I've been following a couple of the APC Monitor threads for a bit now. It appears, at least to me, that to monitor APC UPii you either need to buy the 9606 card or use the APCUPSD for *nix. I happened to be doing an SNMP walk against one of my boxes today after I installed the PowerChute Agent from APC. At the bottom of the list was all the information for the UPS. Granted, it isn't everything that you'd get from the 9606 card, but it's enough to get a decent graph.

All you need is the APC PowerChute Business Edition software, which is freely downloaded from their site. You do need to register to download it though. You'll need at least one machine with the APC server installed and all the other machines as a Agent to the server. Once all the machines are configured properly, you should be able to poll them via SNMP.

Attached is an example graph and the Custom CDEF to calculate correct run times in minutes. If you have any problems, or at least if you find this useful, let me know.


Attachments:
APC-Graph.gif
APC-Graph.gif [ 21.65 KiB | Viewed 43033 times ]
cacti_graph_template_apc_stats.xml [35.79 KiB]
Downloaded 3765 times
CDEF-APCRuntime.gif
CDEF-APCRuntime.gif [ 5.45 KiB | Viewed 45727 times ]


Last edited by streaker69 on Tue May 01, 2007 3:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: C to F
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 4:50 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
The default output of the APC Agent is for Battery Temp apparently in C, for those of us that are not used to reading C, here's a CDEF that will translate it into F.

If ya use this, make sure you change the Graph label from C to F.


Attachments:
CDEF-CtoF.gif
CDEF-CtoF.gif [ 6.1 KiB | Viewed 45756 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:01 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
Just a little update to this. I just got a APC's NetSNMP card installed today and found that this template will work directly with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:08 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 372
Location: Emeryville, CA
Streaker, Is this a template that i should import, or should i put it in the scripts folder? I tried to import it and i got an XML Hash error. I am running two APC units, and I would love to be able to track this information.

thanks

app

_________________
Cacti Version - 0.8.7b
Plugin Architecture - 2.2 Beta
Poller Type - CMD.php
Server Info - Linux 2.6.9-78.0.1.ELsmp
Web Server - Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)
PHP - 4.3.9
MySQL - 4.1.22
RRDTool - 1.2.23
SNMP - 5.1.2
Plugins
    Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.5)
    SuperLinks (superlinks - v0.72)
    Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
    Report Creator (reports - v0.3)
    Update Checker (update - v0.4)
    Realtime for Cacti (realtime - v0.35)
    Cacti Log View (clog - v1.1)
    RRD File Cleaner (rrdclean - v0.36)
    Network Discovery (discovery - v0.9)
    Uptime (uptime - v0.4)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 8:12 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
It's an XML that you import.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:06 pm
Posts: 20
Great Template
I think the CDEF loads with a '6' instead of '6000' as a divisor
Also, the input voltage has '150' if you put 0, it will be OK for 220v systems


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 3:29 pm 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
I've uploaded a new version of the XML. This one now includes a GPRINT for Battery Replacement Indicator. With this, you can set a threshold that when the indicator goes above 1, to email you that the battery needs replaced.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:30 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 68
I have tried this template against a UPS APC Smart 5000, but the only thing I get is the Battery Temp. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:41 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
ABX wrote:
I have tried this template against a UPS APC Smart 5000, but the only thing I get is the Battery Temp. :(


Chances are that model is using different OID's than the models that I'm using.

Do an SNMP walk of your device and see which ones it's using and then modify your copy of the template with the correct ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:39 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 68
I'll try that, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:22 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 68
Most of the OID's were ok, but they were missing the initial dot.

Old:
1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.1.0

Correct:
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.1.0



Anyway thanks for the tip and the graphs are coming out nicely.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:17 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
ABX wrote:
Most of the OID's were ok, but they were missing the initial dot.

Old:
1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.1.0

Correct:
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.1.0



Anyway thanks for the tip and the graphs are coming out nicely.


Ok, that's really strange then because I don't have a leading period in any of mine and they're working fine. I wonder if this is a Cacti issue or an SNMP issue with the different APC devices.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 1:38 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 68
No idea, for the record I'm running Cacti on Windows 2003 Server.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 2:36 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 68
Here is the fixed version for APC 5000 Smart UPS, this is the first time I upload something so be warned. :)


Attachments:
File comment: Fixed version for Cacti 0.8.7
cacti_graph_template_apc_stats.xml [48 KiB]
Downloaded 2433 times
cacti_graph_template_apc_stats.jpg
cacti_graph_template_apc_stats.jpg [ 47.35 KiB | Viewed 41787 times ]


Last edited by ABX on Wed Nov 28, 2007 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:22 pm
Posts: 47
sorry but I'm very new to cacti...i went to import templates page and tried importing this APC template you've developed and when i save it and import it says Hash version does not exist...do I have to edit this file somehow


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group