DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

#1 Post by BSOD2600 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:39 pm

Changelog:
1.0
-Initial release
-Exported with Cacti 0.8.7a

Background:
This template collects the docsIfCmtsCmStatusValue field from a CMTS, which details information about the various states CM's are in. It was tested against a C9 CMTS, but should work against others which support the DOCSIS MIB.

Installation:
1. Place the ss_ script into the /cacti/scripts/ directory
2. Import the xml templates
3. In Data sources, add the 'DOCSIS - CMTS CM Count' data template for a device.
4. In Graph management, add the 'DOCSIS - CMTS CM Count' graph template and select the proper fields.
Attachments
cmts cm count 1.0.zip
script / template
(19.64 KiB) Downloaded 1024 times
cmts cm count.png
sample graph
cmts cm count.png (15.23 KiB) Viewed 14023 times

ItsNewToYou
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 9:11 am
Contact:

I have been looking for this...

#2 Post by ItsNewToYou » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:20 pm

Fantastic script!!! You might want to change the description to C4 not C9 I assume. Anyway to have it show individual downstreams and upstreams with something like a node notation?

ItsNewToYou

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: I have been looking for this...

#3 Post by BSOD2600 » Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:39 pm

ItsNewToYou wrote:Anyway to have it show individual downstreams and upstreams with something like a node notation?
Umm possibly. I forget how the docsis mib had the data aggregated. But at any rate, the per-modem graphs would look something like this.

rpoorman
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:22 pm

Re: DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

#4 Post by rpoorman » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:57 am

I'm running this against a UBR7100 (Cisco).

I've confirmed I am getting Interface stats off the device, gone through the install procedure but the cmts graph is showing as just NAN. If I try to go through device to look the graph doesn't appear in the list, but if I go to graphs it does.

snmpwalk verification.. (a piece of it)
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163841 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163842 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163843 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163844 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163845 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163846 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163847 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163848 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.3.3.1.9.163849 = INTEGER: 6

command line run -
php ss_docsis_cmts_cm_count.php ss_docsis_cmts_cm_count device_ip public 1 161
No log handling enabled - turning on stderr logging
Cannot find module (qb.mib): At line 0 in (none)
Content-type: text/html
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.9

other:0 ranging:0 rangingAborted:0 rangingComplete:0 ipComplete:0 registrationComplete:0 accessDenied:0

Any clues?

Thanks,

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

#5 Post by BSOD2600 » Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:36 pm

The CMTS really have thousands of devices connected? Possibly the query is taking too long and is timing out. Try increasing the snmp timeout value.

jbarbieri
Cacti User
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Rochester, New Hampshire
Contact:

Re: DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

#6 Post by jbarbieri » Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:56 pm

Maybe the OIDs have changed?

I have an external script to calculate the modem counts for a CMTS, and I have to input what type of CMTS (moto/cisco10k/cisco10k-oldcode/vxr).

It *only* shows registered though, which is all I am looking for.


The gap is a cacti-server slowdown. Still trying to track down why I get gaps overnight.
Attachments
total-modems.png
One of my bigger CMTSs.
total-modems.png (14.19 KiB) Viewed 11910 times

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Re: DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

#7 Post by BSOD2600 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:30 pm

wow, you really do have 17K+ modems on that device. How long does an snmpwalk take? You must increase the snmp timeout value a lot, because now I'm sure the script is timing out during the walk.

jbarbieri
Cacti User
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Rochester, New Hampshire
Contact:

Re: DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

#8 Post by jbarbieri » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:58 pm

This is running the script manually:

Code: Select all

[[email protected]]/usr/local/cacti/scripts/custom$ time ./modem_count.pl xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx public old10k
17807
real    0m0.371s
user    0m0.177s
sys     0m0.021s
[[email protected]]/usr/local/cacti/scripts/custom$

jbarbieri
Cacti User
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Rochester, New Hampshire
Contact:

Re: DOCSIS CMTS CM Count [v1.0 2007-12-18]

#9 Post by jbarbieri » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:48 am

I upgraded my spine from 0.8.7c to 0.8.7e and my gaps have appeared to stop, so the script wasn't the problem.

my SNMP timeouts are 500ms (for most devices, some of them are over slow links so I set them a little higher).

Post Reply