Win32 - Motherboard Monitor 5 via SNMP

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

Win32 - Motherboard Monitor 5 via SNMP

#1 Post by BSOD2600 » Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:08 pm

I got tired of using the mbm2mrtg perl script to get my MBM5 data for Cacti.
So, I created a Perl script that takes the output of the SNMP MBM5 Informant ( http://www.wtcs.org/informant/mbm/overview.htm ) and formats it for Cacti. Obviously, this requires motherboard monitor 5 installed.

Should work with either SNMP v1 or v2. I don't have anything SNMP v2, so wasn't able to test.
Attachments
mbm5.zip
Readme, script and templates
(19.65 KiB) Downloaded 15322 times
mbm5.png
Basic output
mbm5.png (18.66 KiB) Viewed 48726 times
Last edited by BSOD2600 on Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
NHDave
Cacti User
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 9:14 am
Contact:

Re: Win32 - Motherboard Monitor 5 via SNMP

#2 Post by NHDave » Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:11 am

BSOD2600 wrote:I got tired of using the mbm2mrtg perl script to get my MBM5 data for Cacti.
So, I created a Perl script that takes the output of the SNMP MBM5 Informant ( http://www.wtcs.org/informant/mbm/overview.htm ) and formats it for Cacti. Obviously, this requires motherboard monitor 5 installed.

Should work with either SNMP v1 or v2. I don't have anything SNMP v2, so wasn't able to test.
Good job! Loaded these onto my core3 box and am pulling data from my XP box w/SNMP.V2

websat
Cacti User
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:00 pm
Contact:

#3 Post by websat » Fri Jun 24, 2005 4:05 am

hi
i install your script but don't have data in the graph, i have the same problem for temperazture, fans and voltages graphs...
Attachments
graph_image.png
graph_image.png (21.06 KiB) Viewed 48208 times

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#4 Post by BSOD2600 » Mon Jun 27, 2005 1:33 pm

Using getif, do you see any values for mbm5? I bet not.
Can you poll other snmp values off that host?
Does mbm5 report values in the system tray?
Try reinstalling the SNMP MBM5 Informant.

User avatar
Ago
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

re

#5 Post by Ago » Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:46 am

Hello PPL... I was checking for a solution like this recently and only found this (and i dislike mbm). Well, i just digged up some docs on how to write snmp extension agents and made an snmp extension agent for the ms agent that gets temp, etc... values from speedfans shm area.
the tool is free and the source code is licensed under the lgpl, give it a try, you can get it here:


SpeedFan SNMP Extension
SpeedFan Homepage

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#6 Post by BSOD2600 » Mon Jul 18, 2005 1:13 am

Very cool :-)

I might have to try this out shorty since MBM doesn't support my new Intel 955X chipset mobo.

881314
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:07 am

#7 Post by 881314 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:14 am

ask stupid questions

The follow is MBM5, Perl, MRTG install location,
I would like to where sould I put snmp_mbm5.pl and mbm2mrtg.pl in.
Those *.xml where should I put in

install Perl in C:\
install MBM5 in D:\MBM5
install MRTG in D:\MRTG

MBM5 Record in F:\log\MBM5
MRTG output in F:\log\MRTG

Thanks a lot

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#8 Post by BSOD2600 » Tue Jul 19, 2005 1:56 pm

All you questions have been addressed in the readme.txt file included.

881314
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:07 am

#9 Post by 881314 » Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:26 am

Thanks for your replying

Because I am a beginner. Last time I tried install mbm2mrtg, but it didnot work, that why I ask.

The follow is MBM5, Perl, MRTG install location,
I would like to where sould I put snmp_mbm5.pl and mbm2mrtg.pl in.
Those *.xml where should I put in

install Perl in C:\
install MBM5 in D:\MBM5
install MRTG in D:\MRTG

MBM5 Record in F:\log\MBM5
MRTG output in F:\log\MRTG


Place snmp_mbm5.pl in your script directory.

Thanks a lot

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#10 Post by BSOD2600 » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:52 am

This doesn't use the mbm2mrtg script, so I don't see how that is relevant.

881314
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:07 am

#11 Post by 881314 » Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:31 am

Thanks for your replying, I will try it again

Thanks again

Alives
Cacti User
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:39 am

#12 Post by Alives » Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:34 pm

I have been doing lots of research to find the easiest/lowest cpu/memory cost solution to reporting fan, voltage, and temp to snmp or wmi for cacti's use.

I know that Net-SNMP can be built with lm_sensors support, but I dont that is true for win32 systems. Is this correct?

Is there any tool that will report these values, without eating up valuable system resources and time? Ideally I would just like a program that runs as a system service...something small...

Also, I cant get that speedfan snmp agent to work, but it also appears to take up just as many resources as MBM.

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#13 Post by BSOD2600 » Tue Aug 02, 2005 3:08 am

MBM5 is only using 2,620 K of memory on my system. That really isnt that much.

I don't know about net-snmp, since I've never installed that agent on a Win32 computer.

Alives
Cacti User
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:39 am

#14 Post by Alives » Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:48 pm

MBM5 is using 40% CPU and snmp is using 25% almost always at idle now... is it installed wrong? This is why i feel it is bloatware...

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#15 Post by BSOD2600 » Thu Aug 04, 2005 2:57 am

yes, there is something horribly wrong with your installation.

My computer has been up for 1 day(s), 16 hour(s). SNMP.exe has used 0:02:59 and MBM5.exe has used 0:00:07.

Post Reply