[INFO] What is this 'm' or 'u' after my numbers in graphs??

If you figure out how to do something interesting/cool in Cacti and want to share it with the community, please post your experience here.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
rony
Developer/Forum Admin
Posts: 6016
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

[INFO] What is this 'm' or 'u' after my numbers in graphs??

#1 Post by rony » Tue Jun 21, 2005 12:51 pm

Because of the amount of resent post I have been seeing, and past, I have decided this is sticky information.

Basically, if you see a letter after a number on your graphs, it is an unit that rrdtool has converted that value to. This is done for readability. The following table gives you an idea of the possible units that will follow a number in your graphs.

Code: Select all

10^-18  a - atto
10^-15  f - femto
10^-12  p - pico
10^-9   n - nano
10^-6   u - micro
10^-3   m - milli
0    (no unit)
10^3    k - kilo
10^6    M - mega
10^9    G - giga
10^12   T - tera
10^15   P - peta
Last edited by rony on Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:54 am, edited 6 times in total.
[size=117][i][b]Tony Roman[/b][/i][/size]
[size=84][i]Experience is what causes a person to make new mistakes instead of old ones.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]There are only 3 way to complete a project: Good, Fast or Cheap, pick two.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]With age comes wisdom, what you choose to do with it determines whether or not you are wise.[/i][/size]

spex
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 7:04 am

#2 Post by spex » Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:17 am

If you have value's based on 1024 e.g. from storage devices the values shown are wrong. Can you tell cacti to handle that correct, or is a cdef the only solution.
Regards Spex

User avatar
rony
Developer/Forum Admin
Posts: 6016
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

#3 Post by rony » Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:03 pm

In the data source, base value should be changed from 1000 to 1024.
[size=117][i][b]Tony Roman[/b][/i][/size]
[size=84][i]Experience is what causes a person to make new mistakes instead of old ones.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]There are only 3 way to complete a project: Good, Fast or Cheap, pick two.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]With age comes wisdom, what you choose to do with it determines whether or not you are wise.[/i][/size]

spex
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 7:04 am

#4 Post by spex » Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:44 am

I could not find the place where you can change the base value.
Looked at datasource and datatemplate and at rrd with rrdeditor.
Can you please explain a little more....
Regards Spex

User avatar
rony
Developer/Forum Admin
Posts: 6016
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

#5 Post by rony » Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:43 am

I should really consider sleeping more, it might help me to answer questions right.

It's actually a graph value not a data source value.

Sorry... :oops:
[size=117][i][b]Tony Roman[/b][/i][/size]
[size=84][i]Experience is what causes a person to make new mistakes instead of old ones.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]There are only 3 way to complete a project: Good, Fast or Cheap, pick two.[/i][/size]
[size=84][i]With age comes wisdom, what you choose to do with it determines whether or not you are wise.[/i][/size]

spex
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 7:04 am

#6 Post by spex » Fri Nov 24, 2006 3:14 am

rony wrote:It's actually a graph value not a data source value.
I can not find the desired item.
Maybe you talk about a definition of cdef's or gprints.
But the scaling is as far as I know be done automatically by rrdtool.
So cdefs or gprints are not the right way.

Regards Spex

jt72
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:25 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland

Limit to x decimal places or specific notation?

#7 Post by jt72 » Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:07 am

I am reading/graphing a value reported in tenths - eg 101 is value given back which equals 10.1 dBmV.

This works fine unless the value is between -9 to +9 (so -.9 to +.9 dBmV). In this case I get 900m instead of .9

Is it possible to restrict the values to one decimal place or to use a specific notation? It's not a big deal, but the data is represented in a way users are not familiar with.

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#8 Post by BSOD2600 » Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:21 pm

This is an rrdtool issue, so if you figure out how to do it (maybe reading through the manual), then yes, it can be possible ;-).

DervMan
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:11 am

#9 Post by DervMan » Thu Nov 20, 2008 4:47 am

Did you find a solution to this?

I too am getting 200m on the y axis when I want .20.

Thanks

mensmaximus
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:43 am

#10 Post by mensmaximus » Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:34 am

How your values are show below the graph is a matter of gprint settings. The predefined gprints have all a trailing %s which will "autoscale" numbers to milli, mega, peta and so on.

If you want to display your values in "real" format just define a new gprint preset (cacti console - management - graph management - gprint presets - add) named e.g. "myrealvalues" with %8.2lf as gprint text.

In your graphtemplate now all you have to do is to select "myrealvalues" as the gprint type for each graph item you want to display "real" numbers.

jweinraub
Cacti User
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:21 am

Re: [INFO] What is this 'm' or 'u' after my numbers in graph

#11 Post by jweinraub » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:57 am

I know this was published quite some time ago, but I am still getting the suffix and load average already has

Code: Select all

%8.2lf
.

In here:

Image

It seems to only happen with 0.x mm. Once it gets above 1.0 mm, it is fine, e.g.:

Image

Any ideas as to why this is occurring?

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: [INFO] What is this 'm' or 'u' after my numbers in graph

#12 Post by phalek » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:40 am

The later Cacti versions have a pre-defined CDEF called "Exact numbers". Try that one
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

jweinraub
Cacti User
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:21 am

Re: [INFO] What is this 'm' or 'u' after my numbers in graph

#13 Post by jweinraub » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:42 am

I am using exact numbers right now. It appears to be the same result.
Edit: I just added the exponent to zero. It seems to have done the trick.
Image

However, doing the same trick, won't work for this graph:

Image

It doesn't show the decimal so it has the same significant digits so the graph is fairly useless since pressure is rather subtle.

Post Reply